Key Education Journals
Recommended Databases for Education
The Shapiro Library subscribes numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from tens of thousands of respected publications. The following is a list of some of the best Education databases:
- Chronicle of Higher Education This link opens in a new windowThe number one source of news, information, and jobs for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- Education Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowMagazines, scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals and reports in the field of education
- Education Full Text - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAbstracting and indexing of 478 periodicals as far back as 1983 and full-text of 204 periodicals as far back as 1996 in the field of education.
- Educators Reference Complete - Gale This link opens in a new windowA collection of more than 1,100 periodicals and 200 reports, provides full text for titles in the Eric database and covers multiple levels of education.
- ERIC - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowContains citations and abstracts from education-related journals and document published by ERIC.
- Explora This link opens in a new windowSearch interface marketed to Elementary School Libraries. Searches Academic Search Complete, ERIC, Newspaper Source and EBSCO eBook Academic Collection. It also provides topic overviews written for elementary school aged children. Explora is useful for the Education Student who wants to try using a search interface that might be found in an elementary school library.
- PrepSTEP This link opens in a new windowCollection of databases or "Centers" providing tools to assist with educational skills and career goals. Centers contain skill-building exercises, tutorials, e-books and interactive practice tests for professional and graduate exams. Includes Praxis, N-CLEX, GRE, GMAT, MCAT, LSAT, TOEFL, and more. Users may have to register for a free account to access some materials.
- SAGE Journals This link opens in a new windowThe SAGE Journals platform includes full text of scholarly journals from SAGE publications in many disciplines, such as, education, sociology, women's studies, criminal justice and business.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowAn award-winning tool designed to help you create research projects and understand the methods behind them. See the Help - Sage Research Methods page for help using the platform.
Education Journals
The Periodical Finder, accessed from the drop-down menu under "Find Articles, eBooks & More" in the banner across the library home page, can be used to locate specific journals' content in the library databases, or to browse journals by subject. Check out the Education journals available in the library databases.
Google Scholar
It's true that you can find some high-quality, scholarly articles online. If you're going to search online for articles, make sure to evaluate your sources thoroughly. Before you search in Google Scholar, be sure to Connect Scholar to the Shapiro Library databases. Check out our Google Like a Librarian guide for search tips or ask a librarian (ask@snhu.libanswers.com) if you need more help.