Company Information
The focus of this guide is to provide resources for locating information on domestic and international companies
Financials & Ratios
Library databases provide access to a number of financial documents and tools for publicly traded companies, including:
- Balance sheet This link opens in a new window: A financial statement that provides a snapshot of a company’s financial position at a specific point in time. It lists assets (what the company owns), liabilities (what the company owes), and shareholders' equity (the net value of the company).
- Income statement This link opens in a new window: Also known as a profit and loss (P&L) statement, shows a company’s financial performance over a period of time (e.g., a quarter or a year). It details revenues, expenses, and profits or losses, and helps investors assess profitability and operational efficiency.
- Cash flow This link opens in a new window: Tracks the movement of cash in and out of a company over a period of time. It is divided into three sections: operating activities (core business operations), investing activities (buying or selling assets), and financing activities (loans, dividends, or stock issuance). Cash flow analysis helps determine a company’s liquidity and ability to meet short-term obligations.
- Ratios This link opens in a new window: Metrics used to evaluate a company's financial health and performance. Common types include:
♦ Liquidity Ratios (e.g., current ratio) assess a company’s ability to pay short-term debts.
♦ Profitability Ratios (e.g., return on equity) measure earnings relative to costs.
♦ Leverage Ratios (e.g., debt-to-equity) analyze a company’s financial risk.
♦ Efficiency Ratios (e.g., asset turnover) show how effectively resources are utilized.
For more guidance on ratios, check out the following FAQ:
Mergent Market Atlas: Public Company Financials
The following video walks you through using Mergent Market Atlas to find a company's financial data, and a link to Mergent Market Atlas is provided below the video along with other databases that also contain financial statements or ratios.
Recommended Databases
- Mergent Market Atlas This link opens in a new windowMergent Market Atlas offers a wealth of detail on company financials, ratios, business segments, descriptions, sustainability, officers and directors. The powerful and intuitive search capabilities provide quick access to a multitude of company, industry, index, ESG and economic data views and reports. Mergent Market Atlas delivers the same comprehensive suite of financial information used by many professionals.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new windowD&B Hoovers — which combines the best of the former Hoovers solution, insights-rich Dun & Bradstreet data, and the robust Avention OneSource platform — offers deeper insights on your most important industries, accounts, and contacts. It offers one-of-a-kind functionality to help you quickly analyze and understand companies at a level that was previously unheard of. SNHU’s subscription includes CRUSH and One Stop Reports. FAQ: Where can I find income statements and balance sheets? Please log out of D&B Hoovers when you are finished using the database. Note: Some users are reporting errors, such as requests for a password pop up when attempting to access from off-campus.
Please try clearing your browser's cookies/cache. Please also try a different browser. - Mergent INTELLECT This link opens in a new windowMergent Intellect is a highly flexible web-based application that features a deep collection of worldwide business information that enables companies to generate insightful business intelligence. Coupling Mergent's expertise in developing products for the reference marketplace with D&B®'s private company database, Mergent Intellect offers new and existing clients a unique opportunity to access private and public U.S and international business data, industry news, facts and figures, executive contact information, the ability to access industry profiles and much more. This database also includes Hoovers and Key Business Ratios with First Research. Read this FAQ about how to access and use First Research.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep archives and the latest stories. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures. The Company Dossier module also allows you to identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present. Nexis Uni is the new platform to replace LexisNexis Academic, which has been phased out by the vendor.
- Capital IQ Pro (Standard & Poor’s) This link opens in a new windowIncludes company profiles and financials of both public and private companies, in-depth global data for 17 industries; 7 industry-specific financial statement templates, and more. Note: The Capital IQ classic interface is still available - third party cookies need to be enabled for it to work properly. Need help using the database - check out the Academic Resource Center.
