Archives of Southern New Hampshire University

About the Archives

Southern New Hampshire University’s Archives promotes the mission and history of the University by collecting, storing, preserving, organizing, cataloging, and providing access to the records of enduring value that document the institution, its people, culture, administration, curricula, programs, and departments.

Accessing the Digital Archives

Access to digitized material from the Southern New Hampshire University Archives is available through two online platforms. The Academic Archive This link opens in a new window provides access to academic material and publications, while the SNHU Archives on Omeka This link opens in a new window provides access to content related to SNHU history. Open collections may be viewed online from any location. Closed collections may be viewed only with special permission. Contact information for requesting access is provided for each closed collection.

Visiting the Archives

The Archives are located across from the elevator on the third floor of the Shapiro Library, located within the Wolak Library Learning Center Commons Building. Access to the collection is available by appointment on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 9 am to 5:30 pm, and at other times by special arrangement. Researchers and visitors are welcome to view the collection. Please email archives@snhu.edu to request an appointment. Be sure to tell us a little about your research interests so that we may prepare for your visit.

Donating Materials

The Archives is a growing collection and is actively accepting donations of appropriate materials. While we cannot take absolutely everything, the following are examples of the types of items we collect:

• Published scholarship produced by any faculty or staff member of the University
• University organizational records such as meeting minutes, course catalogs, planning documents, press releases, or official correspondence.
• University promotional materials such as flyers, newsletters, event programs, and magazines.
• Photos, meeting minutes, and other information about student life and activities.
• Personal papers, photographs, professional files, scrapbooks, and other materials from prominent University administrators, faculty, staff, students, and alumni.
• Materials not directly related to SNHU that will have research value to the SNHU community.

If you have material that you feel belongs in the Archives or if you would like someone to review materials you have to determine if they are appropriate for inclusion, please contact the SNHU Archives: archives@snhu.edu