Guide to the 1853 Collection
Collection number: 100.5
Size: 1 box and 13 bound items
Formats:
Books
Newspapers and Publications
Photographs
Maps
Realia
About the 1853 Collection
Charles Dickens' book Bleak House was originally issued in monthly installments between March of 1852 and September of 1853. The 1853 collection consists of bound volumes, periodicals, pamphlets, photographs, and other original materials that provide a broad context for that time period.
Administrative Information
Access Restrictions
There are no access restrictions on this collection.
Preferred Citation
1853 Collection, 100.5, University Archives, Harry A.B. and Gertrude C. Shapiro Library, Southern New Hampshire University, Manchester, NH, USA.
Acquisition Information
Purchases of the Shapiro Library and Undergraduate Research, 2014 - present
Collection Contents
Box 1
Periodicals
- The Illustrated London News, January 10, 1852
- The Illustrated London News, June 18, 1853
- Medical Times & Gazette, September 30, 1854
- Bleak House, No. VIII, October
- Harper's New Monthly Magazine, June, 1852
Photographs
- 1/6 plate Daguerreotype of man
- 1/6 plate Ambrotype of girl
- 1/6 plate Ambrotype of woman, E.S. Dunshee, photographer
- Carte de visite of woman, Flodin & Thyberg, photographers
Miscellaneous
- Map: Africa Antiqua
- Pamphlet: The Spoiled Child
Bound Volumes
- Bleak House, Charles Dickens, privately bound, 1853
- Bleak House, Charles Dickens, bound by the publisher, 1853
- London Labour and the London Poor, Henry Mayhew, Volume I, 1851
- Englishwoman's Domestic Magazine, Volumes I and II, 1852-1853
- Punch, January - June 1853
- The Art of Landscape Painting in Oil Colours, 1852
- Mr. Sponge's Sporting Tour, Robert Smith Surtees, 1853
- European Life and Manners, Henry Coleman, Volumes I and II, 1850
- Cakes and Ale, Douglas Jerrold, 1852
- An Essay on the Evils of Popular Ignorance, John Foster, 1853
- The Pearl of Days, Barbara H. Farquhar, 1850
- Little Women from the Bleak House of Charles Dickens, Dame Durden