Skip to main content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library

Archives of Southern New Hampshire University

Guide to the Robert J. Begiebing Papers


Collection number: 100.10

Size: 20 boxes

Formats:

Manuscripts and Typescripts

Newspapers and Publications

Letters and Postcards

Audio and Video Recordings

Photographs

 

About Robert J. Begiebing


Robert J. Begiebing was born in Adams, Massachusetts, in 1946, and graduated from Granada Hills High School, California, in 1964.  From there he went on to receive his B.A. in English (with high honors) from Norwich University in 1968, his M.A. in English from Boston College in 1970, and his Ph.D in English from the University of New Hampshire in 1977.  Between graduate degrees, he served on active duty in the U.S. Army from 1970-72.  He married Linda Adams (of Millbury, MA) in 1968, with whom he had two daughters, Brie (1979) and Kate (1982).  He taught at New Hampshire College/ Southern New Hampshire University from 1977 until his retirement in 2011 as Professor of English Emeritus, winning three teaching awards during his tenure at the university.  He served as the founding director of the university’s B.A. in English and Creative writing and the MFA in Fiction and Nonfiction.  In 1983 he served as the founding editor of The New Hampshire College/ SNHU Journal.  He also taught, as one of the inaugural faculty members, in the Writing Workshops at the Norman Mailer Center in Provincetown, MA.

Begiebing is the author of many articles and reviews and nine books, including fiction (The Strange Death of Mistress Coffin, The Adventures of Allegra Fullerton, Rebecca Wentworth’s Distraction, and The Turner Erotica), criticism (Acts of Regeneration, Toward a New Synthesis, and The Literature of Nature), memoir (A Berkshire Boyhood), and journalism (The Territory Around Us).  In 2003 Rebecca Wentworth’s Distraction won the Langum Prize for Historical Fiction.  His fiction writing was supported by grants from the New Hampshire Council on the Arts and the Lila Wallace Fund.  In 2007, Governor John Lynch appointed Begiebing to the New Hampshire Council on the Arts.

 

About the Robert J. Begiebing Papers


The Robert J. Begiebing papers consists of manuscripts, books, literary correspondence, periodical publications (academic articles as well as literary and political journalism), and other items. The collection includes literary correspondence with Donald Hall, Norman Mailer, Wesley McNair, Louis Rubin, and Merle Drown, among others, as well as correspondence with agents, editors, and publishers' marketers for various books and periodicals projects. The collection includes unpublished manuscripts and manuscripts in various stages of revision, and reviews of the author’s works.

Materials in this collection maintains the arrangement established by Professor Begiebing.

 

Administrative Information


Access Restrictions

The author and family members will have access to the materials upon request, as will student or professional scholars, under the university’s guidelines of standard archival practices.  Since a considerable amount of the correspondence holds personal information and uncensored expressions of thoughts on a variety of subjects, scholars beyond the author’s family should have specific research projects in mind when granted access to the archive.

 

Copyright Notice

Contents of this collection are governed by U.S. copyright law. For questions about publication or reproduction rights, contact Archives Collections staff

 

Preferred Citation

[Identification of item], [Folder number], [Box number], Robert J. Begiebing Papers, 100.10, Harry A.B. and Gertrude C. Shapiro Library, Southern New Hampshire University, Manchester, NH, USA

 

Acquisitions Information

Gift of Robert J. Begiebing, 2015

 

Collection Contents


Box 1

Box 1, Folder 1 Wesley McNair, 1983 – 1991

Box 1, Folder 2 Wesley McNair, 1992 – 2000

Box 1, Folder 3 Wesley McNair, 2001 – 2014

 

Box 2

Box 2, Folder 1 Mailer Conference

Box 2, Folder 2 Sam Coale

Box 2, Folder 3 Mailer Talk, Colby-Sawyer, 1985

Box 2, Folder 4 Mailer-Hemingway Dialog

Box 2, Folder 5 Mailer-Hemmingway Research Materials

Box 2, Folder 6 Norman Mailer Correspondence

Box 2, Folder 7 Harvard Interview, Raw Transcript

Box 2, Folder 8 Mailer Interview

Box 2, Folder 9 Michael Lennon, Mailer’s Biographer

Box 2, Folder 10 Donald Hall

 

Box 3

Box 3, Folder 1 Rebecca Wentworth

Box 3, Folder 2 Rebecca Wentworth UPNE Editorial

Box 3, Folder 3 Rebecca Wentworth

Box 3, Folder 4 Langum Prize

Box 3, Folder 5 Newbury, May 2, 2005, New Hampshire Library

Box 3, Folder 6 Past events, Itinerary, Spotlight Publicity

Box 3, Folder 7 Rebecca Wentworth Scovil Contract

Box 3, Folder 8 Rebecca Wentworth Marketing and Publicity

Box 3, Folder 9 Rebecca Wentworth Reviews

Box 3, Folder 10 Marketing Rebecca Fiction

Box 3, Folder 11 Book ‘Em, Lebanon, New Hampshire, September 9, 2006

Box 3, Folder 12 Dartmouth Bookstore, May 14, UPNE

Box 3, Folder 13 Strawbery Bank Bookstore

Box 3, Folder 15 UNH Library, Stratham Library, Durham Men’s Group

Box 3, Folder 16 NHWP, Manuscript Evaluations, Rambling Recluse

Box 3, Folder 17 The Turner Erotica Novel 2013

Box 3, Folder 18 Book Review

Box 3, Folder 19 Sy Montgomery 2007 Residency

Box 3, Folder 20 Brendan Galvin

Box 3, Folder 21 Professor Paul Lewis, Boston College

Box 3, Folder 22 Larry Kinsman

Box 3, Folder 23 Katie Towler

Box 3, Folder 24 Diane Les Becquets

Box 3, Folder 25 Short Story Correspondence, published

Box 3, Folder 26 Jack Scovil, Publishing Idea

Box 3, Folder 27 J. Parker Huber, Editor & Author

Box 3, Folder 28 Gary Snyder, Paper

Box 3, Folder 29 Emma LeBlanc, Rhodes Scholarship, SNHU

Box 3, Folder 30 Jon Clinch

Box 3, Folder 31 Richard Rhodes

Box 3, Folder 32 Algonquin Books, Novel #2

Box 3, Folder 33 Poetry Masters

Box 3, Folder 34 UPNE

Box 3, Folder 35 Scovil, Wolves

Box 3, Folder 36 Jack Scovil, miscellaneous and MFA

Box 3, Folder 37 Miscellaneous Literary Correspondence

Box 3, Folder 38 Mailer Book Review – USA Today

 

Box 4

Box 4, Folder 1 Rebecca Wentworth’s Distraction, Version sent to UPNE, May 2002

Box 4, Folder 2 Rebecca Wentworth’s Distraction, Uncorrected Proof, April 2003

 

Box 5

Box 5, Folder 1 Literature of Nature, Permissions

Box 5, Folder 2 Literature of Nature, Business

Box 5, Folder 3 Literature of Nature and Owen Grumbling

Box 5, Folder 4 Literature of Nature McGraw-Hill Spin-Off As Proposed

Box 5, Folder 5 Literature of Nature Contract and Marketing

Box 5, Folder 6 The Literature of Nature

Box 5, Folder 7 Literature of Nature, Related Correspondence

Box 5, Folder 8 Literature of Nature, Copyright and Permissions

Box 5, Folder 9 20th Century Permissions Accepted

Box 5, Folder 10 Faulkner - Nature

Box 5, Folder 11 20th Century Permissions Not Accepted

Box 5, Folder 12 19th Century Permissions

Box 5, Folder 13 Wendell Berry

Box 5, Folder 14 Aldo Leopold

Box 5, Folder 15 Portsmouth Library, March 31, 2004

Box 5, Folder 16 Enemy Hands Screen Play

Box 5, Folder 17 Enemy Hands Screen Play

 

Box 6

Box 6 Folder 1 Mistress Coffin, Further Business

Box 6 Folder 2 Mistress Coffin, Sheldon Kaplan, Film Option

Box 6, Folder 3 Mistress Coffin

Box 6, Folder 4 Mistress Coffin Out of Print, Algonquin, Reversion of Rights, 2005 - 2009

Box 6, Folder 5 River City Productions

Box 6, Folder 6 Mistress Coffin, Screen Play

Box 6, Folder 7 Old Copies, 20th Century Introduction, Sample Drafting and Editing

Box 6, Folder 8 Acts of Regeneration, University of Texas Correspondence

Box 6, Folder 9 Acts of Regeneration

Box 6, Folder 10 Acts of Regeneration, University of Missouri Press

Box 6, Folder 11 Acts of Regeneration, University of Missouri Press, Photographs

Box 6, Folder 12 Literature of Nature, Editorial Correspondence

 

Box 7

Box 7, Folder 1 Mistress Coffin Research Notes

Box 7, Folder 2 Five Revisions

Box 7, Folder 3 17th Vocabulary

Box 7, Folder 4 Mistress Coffin Research Notes

Box 7, Folder 5 Articles

Box 7, Folder 6 Chronologies and Genealogies

Box 7, Folder 7 2 Votes, Subjects Needed Biblical (or Secular…) Needed or Found

Box 7, Folder 8 Local Resources

Box 7, Folder 9 Editorial Correspondence, Mistress Coffin, 1989 - 1990

Box 7, Folder 10 Editorial Correspondence, Mistress Coffin, 1991 - 1998

Box 7, Folder 11 Publicity Photographs

Box 7, Folder 12 Algonquin Promotional Materials

Box 7, Folder 13 Promotional Statements, Algonquin

Box 7, Folder 14 Reprint Pap. Algonquin, 1996 SDMC

Box 7, Folder 15 Algonquin’s Paperback Edition, Correspondence, 1995 – 1997, Mistress Coffin

Box 7, Folder 16 2 PBC 1997

Box 7, Folder 17 SDMC, Talks and Lectures

Box 7, Folder 18 April 12, Frontiers Knowledge

Box 7, Folder 19 Providence, January 21, 1992

Box 7, Folder 20 University of Maine, Farmington, March 26, Farmington Reading

Box 7, Folder 21 November 1, Mistress Coffin, NHC “Spectrum” Series with Dick Pantano

Box 7, Folder 22 Seacoast Writers, September 28

Box 7, Folder 23 Dover Historical Society, 2ndary Information

Box 7, Folder 24 May 6, 1992, Farm Museum, New Hampshire

Box 7, Folder 25 March 17, NHPWP

Box 7, Folder 26 Oct. 18, Academic Librarian Conference, at NHC, Dick Pantano, Emcee

Box 7, Folder 27 May 17, Romance Writers, Framingham, Massachusetts

 

Box 8

Box 8, Folder 1 The Strange Death of Mistress Coffin, Proof, 1991

Box 8, Folder 2 The Strange Death of Mistress Coffin, Master Page Proof

Box 8, Folder 3 The Strange Death of Mistress Coffin, Edited Manuscript, January 2, 1991

Box 8, Folder 4 Bibliographic Note Cards

 

Box 9

Box 9, Folder 1 Miscellaneous Reviews, Mistress Coffin

Box 9, Folder 2 Mistress Coffin Public Correspondence

Box 9, Folder 3 Mistress Coffin Reviews

Box 9, Folder 4 Mystery Bookstore, Cambridge Bookstores, Reprint

Box 9, Folder 5 “Hall of Fame,” Doubleday, Mistress Coffin

Box 9, Folder 6 Contemporary Literary Criticism Review Mistress Coffin

Box 9, Folder 7 Boston Globe Review, Profile

Box 9, Folder 8 Boston Magazine Review Mistress Coffin

Box 9, Folder 9 L.A. Times Profile, Mistress Coffin

Box 9, Folder 10 Yankee Magazine Review, Mistress Coffin

Box 9, Folder 11 Local Reviews, Mistress Coffin

Box 9, Folder 12 New Hampshire Life Magazine, Review, Excerpt from Mistress Coffin

Box 9, Folder 13 Foster’s Daily Democrat Review Mistress Coffin

Box 9, Folder 14 Washington State Papers, Mistress Coffin

Box 9, Folder 15 Lawrence Eagle Tribune, Mistress Coffin Reviews

Box 9, Folder 16 New Hampshire Sunday News, Union Leader

Box 9, Folder 17 New Hampshire Premier

Box 9, Folder 18 North Adams Transcript

Box 9, Folder 19 Exeter Newsletter

Box 9, Folder 20 Southern Humanities Review, Mistress Coffin

Box 9, Folder 21 Publishers Weekly

Box 9, Folder 22 Publishers Weekly, Mistress Coffin

Box 9, Folder 23 Mostly Murder Periodical, Mistress Coffin

Box 9, Folder 24 Mistress Coffin, Reviews, New York Times

Box 9, Folder 25 Mistress Coffin

Box 9, Folder 26 Mistress Coffin 1991 Correspondence, Readings, Readers, Etc.

Box 9, Folder 27 Louis Rubin’s Past, Algonquin Projects

 

Box 10

Box 10, Folder 1 New Synthesis, Gardner, Chapter 1

Box 10, Folder 2 New Synthesis, Gardner Chapter Notes

Box 10, Folder 3 New Synthesis, Mailer Chapter

Box 10, Folder 4 New Synthesis, Mailer Chapter, For Typist

Box 10, Folder 5 New Synthesis, Mailer Chapter, Final Corrections, Poetry

Box 10, Folder 6 Gardner

Box 10, Folder 7 New Synthesis, Final Corrections, Gardner Chapter

Box 10, Folder 8 Mailer Chapter (2)

Box 10, Folder 9 Mailer Chapter (1)

Box 10, Folder 10 Mailer

Box 10, Folder 11 New Synthesis Research Notes, Conclusion

 

Box 11

Box 11 Folder 1 New Synthesis Introduction

Box 11 Folder 2 New Synthesis Introduction, Cut and Paste

Box 11, Folder 3 Continued Criticism, Synthesis Introduction Research

Box 11, Folder 4 New Synthesis Variant Introduction

Box 11, Folder 5 New Synthesis Introduction to End, Final Typed Version

Box 11, Folder 6 New Synthesis Fowles Chapter and Revisions/Notes

Box 11, Folder 7 Fowles Chapter Final Corrections for Typescript

Box 11, Folder 8 Rewrite, Chapter 2, Fowles

Box 11, Folder 9 New Synthesis, Fowles

Box 11, Folder 10 Fowles Notes, New Synthesis

Box 11, Folder 11 New Synthesis, Gardner Chapter 2

Box 11, Folder 12 Research Notes, Gardner Chapter, New Synthesis

 

Box 12

Box 12, Folder 1 Sandy Garnett

Box 12, Folder 2 Fruitlands and/or Houghton Mifflin Permissions

Box 12, Folder 3 American Antiquarian Society Permissions/Reproductions, Allegra Fullerton

Box 12, Folder 4 German Permissions

Box 12, Folder 5 Bob Begiebing Figures and Illustrations Permissions Allegra Fullerton

Box 12, Folder 6 Cover and Editorial, Allegra Fullerton

Box 12, Folder 7 UNH Library Current Searches and New Notes to be Integrated

Box 12, Folder 8 AAS, May 1998

Box 12, Folder 9 New Synthesis Colleague Commentary

Box 12, Folder 10 Gordon’s Mails

Box 12, Folder 11 Sam Coale’s Commentary

Box 12, Folder 12 Publisher Prospects, New Synthesis

Box 12, Folder 13 2nd Tier for Submissions, Synthesis, Book Submissions and Correspondence

Box 12, Folder 14 University of Pennsylvania Press

Box 12, Folder 15 Illinois, Southern Illinois

Box 12, Folder 16 Missouri

Box 12, Folder 17 New Synthesis, Grants Results and Effects

Box 12, Folder 18 Synthesis Book and Mailer

 

Box 13

Box 13, Folder 1 Allegra Fullerton

Box 13, Folder 2 Reader Responses to Early Manuscript in Progress, Allegra Fullerton

Box 13, Folder 3 Allegra Fullerton Correspondence

Box 13, Folder 4 UPNE Correspondence, etc. Allegra Fullerton

Box 13, Folder 5 UPNE Contract, etc. Allegra Fullerton

Box 13, Folder 6 Allegra Fullerton Reviews

Box 13, Folder 7 Allegra Fullerton promotional Correspondence

Box 13, Folder 8 Public Presentations Allegra Fullerton

Box 13, Folder 9 AWP Conference

Box 13, Folder 10 Currier Gallery, October 25, 2010

Box 13, Folder 11 Gibson, February 3 at 7:00 PM

Box 13, Folder 12 UNE, January 24th, 2000 at Noon

Box 13, Folder 13 Nashua Library, January 19th at 7:00

Box 13, Folder 14 Barnes and Noble, Manchester, January 15th at 2:00 PM

Box 13, Folder 15 Laconia, December 5th at 2:00 PM

Box 13, Folder 16 Toadstool Bookshop, Milford, New Hampshire, December 12 at 1:00 to 3:00

Box 13, Folder 17 Water Street, November 3 at 7:30 Reading

Box 13, Folder 18 PEN New England Panel, July 10th

Box 13, Folder 19 OTTE Postcard

Box 13, Folder 20 Correspondence from Readers

Box 13, Folder 21 New Hampshire Writers Project Reading, May 11

Box 13, Folder 22 Allegra Reviews

 

Box 14

Box 14, Folder 1 The Adventures of Allegra Fullerton, Proof

Box 14, Folder 2 Sandy Garnett

Box 14, Folder 3 Jack Scovil, Agent

Box 14, Folder 4 Bibliographic Note Cards

 

Box 15

Box 15, Folder 1 By Their Expenditures Ye Shall Know Them, Article in Art times and NHC Journal

Box 15, Folder 2 By Their Expenditures Drafts and Revisions of Article1997 and Agreement to Publish

Box 15, Folder 3 Art Times Serial Version, Parts I, II, III

Box 15, Folder 4 Art Times Serial Version, Parts I, II, III

Box 15, Folder 5 Thinking Like a Cancer

Box 15, Folder 6 South Church, Portsmouth, Fall 2000

Box 15, Folder 7 P.E.E.R. and John Mack

Box 15, Folder 8 Participants, Portsmouth Unitarian Church and John Mack

Box 15, Folder 9 Thinking Like a Camera, the Long Version

Box 15, Folder 10 Thoreau/Nationalistic Radicals

Box 15, Folder 11 Nonfiction Book – Radical ‘97

Box 15, Folder 12 1998 Fall, Final Revision, Master, Camera

Box 15, Folder 13 Short Version, Thinking Like a Camera, to Word Magazine

Box 15, Folder 14 Thinking Like a Camera, Research Notes

Box 15, Folder 15 Sold Down the River, 7 Meditations, Book Efforts Before Articles

Box 15, Folder 16 Op-Ed, Nationalistic Radicals of the Right, Thoreau

Box 15, Folder 17 Originals of All Chapters, Masters

Box 15, Folder 18 7 Meditations Proposals Copying Originals

Box 15, Folder 19 Down The River: 7 Meditations, The Manuscript We Ended Up With, Incomplete

 

Box 16

Box 16, Folder 1 Toward a New Synthesis, Author Proof

Box 16, Folder 2 Toward a New Synthesis, Cut and Paste Version of Manuscript

Box 16, Folder 3 Bibliographic Notecards

 

Box 17

Box 17, Folder 1 SNHU Literary Papers

Box 17, Folder 2 Starbuck

Box 17, Folder 3 The Goblin Market

Box 17, Folder 4 David

Box 17, Folder 5 NEASA Plenary Panelist

Box 17, Folder 6 Pine Point Visiting Writer

Box 17, Folder 7 Conference on Fantastic in the Arts

Box 17, Folder 8 New Hampshire Council on the Arts

Box 17, Folder 9 Innovations, Nashua, New Hampshire

Box 17, Folder 10 Spotlight Music Review

Box 17, Folder 11 NHCH Evaluation

 

Box 18

Box 18, Folder 1 MFA Program Samples

Box 18, Folder 2 MFA, Retirement

Box 18, Folder 3 NHC Publicity

Box 18, Folder 4 NHC Marketing, Mistress Coffin

Box 18, Folder 5 Program Description, 2007 Admissions

Box 18, Folder 6 NHWP, SNHU

Box 18, Folder 7 NHWP, Bob’s Dan Brown Introduction

Box 18, Folder 8 SNHU, NHWP

Box 18, Folder 9 MLA Commentary Proposal Correspondence

Box 18, Folder 10 NEMLA Fowles Talk, 1985 – 1989

Box 18, Folder 11 NEMLA Talk, 1987

Box 18, Folder 12 MA Thesis on Thomas Wolfe, Boston College

Box 18, Folder 13 Profile New Hampshire Times, Merle Drown

Box 18, Folder 14 Sydney Lea, New Hampshire Times

Box 18, Folder 15 Sydney Lea

Box 18, Folder 16 Lowel Ulrich, New Hampshire Times Profile

Box 18, Folder 17 New Hampshire Times

Box 18, Folder 18 New Hampshire Times, Wes McNair

 

Box 19

Box 19, Folder 1 American Studies Association Conference

Box 19, Folder 2 A Samples of NHC Years, 1977 to 1994, 2001, Community Participation

 

Box 20

Box 20, Tape 1 NHPR Bob Interview, 2003, Rebecca

Box 20, Tape 2 What’s Your Story? Episode 1, March 25, 2001

Box 20, Tape 3 The Strange Death of Mistress Coffin, WNTN Radio

Box 20, Tape 4 Talk of the Seacoast with Robert Begiebing, The Strange Death of Mistress Coffin, WERZ

Box 20, Tape 5 WEVO Interview Mistress Coffin

Box 20, Tape 6 Interview Maine, Portland Radio

Box 20, Tape 7 Begiebing Interview for NHC Journal

Box 20, Tape 8 Sydney Lea, NH Times, 1983, #1 and 2

Box 20, Tape 9 Sydney Lea, NH Times, 1983, #3

Box 20, Tape 10 Wesley McNair, NH Times, #1 and 2

Box 20, Tape 11 Wesley McNair, NH Times, #3 and 4

Box 20, Tape 12 Laurel Ulrich, NH Times, 1983, # 1 and 2

Box 20, Tape 13 Laurel Ulrich, NH Times, 1983, #3

Box 20, Tape 14 Merle Drown Interview, NH Times, 1983, # 1 and 2

Box 20, Tape 15 Merle Drown Interview, NH Times, 1983, #3

Box 20, Tape 16 Norman Mailer, Harvard

Box 20, Tape 17 Norman Mailer, Harvard

Box 20, Tape 18 Interview, Norman Mailer

Box 20, Disc 1 Longfellow Days, 2013, Wesley McNair

Box 20, Disc 2 The Front Porch, Bob Begiebing, October 1, 2003

Box 20, Disc 3 New Voices, January 31, 2004

Box 20, VHS 1 Bob’s TV Interview, July 1991 and Bob’s NH Outlook Interview, March 2004

Box 20, VHS 2 New Hampshire College, the Humanities Series, Donald Hall and Wesley McNair, November 4, 1988