Archives of Southern New Hampshire University

About the SNHU Academic Archive

The purpose of the SNHU Academic Archive This link opens in a new window is to preserve and make accessible the intellectual output and selected institutional records of Southern New Hampshire University This link opens in a new window and encourage an open-access environment. The Academic Archive supports the Shapiro Library’s mission "to promote successful academic careers and lifelong learning through the delivery of information and instruction using innovative services and technologies."

In 2008, the Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) This link opens in a new window awarded a three-year grant to Southern New Hampshire University to create an open-source, open access repository of student and faculty papers from the School of Community Economic Development and the International Business programs. Since then, the Academic Archive has grown to include resources from many other disciplines. We strive to acquire resources related to the intellectual output of the university, including student and faculty papers, newsletters, speeches, campus symposia, and student publications. Institutional records are also encouraged.

Who maintains the Academic Archive?

The Academic Archive is maintained by the Shapiro Library Archives and is powered by DSpace This link opens in a new window open-source software. It provides open and restricted access, long-term digital preservation, and full-text searching for institutional resources.

Intellectual resources in the Academic Archive are accessible not only from the Academic Archive, but also from WorldCat This link opens in a new window, OpenDOAR This link opens in a new window, and Google Scholar This link opens in a new window.

If you are interested in starting a collection in the Academic Archive or contributing to an existing collection contact Ellen Phillips - Director, Open Educational Resources & Intellectual Property, e.phillips@snhu.edu