IDS 401 - Global Society
Course guide developed specifically for IDS 401 to help support the research of this course, specifically in the final projects.
Social Sciences
If you were researching Chernobyl through the social science lens, you would think about how this topic relates to or has impacted culture, society and humanity. Subjects like business, economics and education also fall under this lens. Consider the following questions that we might ask in thinking about the social science lens and globalization themes surrounding the Chernobyl disaster.
- How has nuclear power affected the cost of electricity in the areas that have a plant?
- Is nuclear power less expensive than other types of electric plants such as coal or hydroelectricity?
- How were the people that lived in surrounding areas of Chernobyl affected by the explosion?
Suggested Databases
The list of databases below are examples of where you could search for primary and secondary sources on this topic. When we think about constructing some search strategies, we can start with keywords.
Including the keyword: Culture or society might not be very helpful as they are not specific enough. Here are some more specific ideas?
- nuclear power AND cost AND electricity
- nuclear power AND coal OR hydroelectricity
- people AND Chernobyl AND displacement
- Humanities International Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of journals in the humanities, with full-text for approximately 1,200.
- LGBTQ+ Source - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowThis database provides full-text coverage for the most important literature regarding lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender issues. Offering a variety of scholarly, popular and regional resources, it includes journals, books, magazines and more.
- PsycARTICLES - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowFrom the APA: a definitive source of full-text, peer-reviewed scholarly and scientific articles in psychology
- EconLit - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAmerican Economic Association's electronic database. Index to journals and other sources of references to economic literature
- Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) This link opens in a new windowProvides country, industry, and management analysis. Includes Country Reports
- Business Source Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Ultimate includes news articles, peer-reviewed articles, case studies, country economic reports. It also includes company profiles, SWOT analyses, and interviews with executives and analysts.
