IDS 401 - Global Society
Course guide developed specifically for IDS 401 to help support the research of this course, specifically in the final projects.
Science
You’ll pick and research your own topic, but to think about how you’ll explore and research your topic through the science ens, consider the following example. The video below titled Science Behind Nuclear Power This link opens in a new window can give some insights into how the technology works.
If you were researching Chernobyl and nuclear power, you would think about how this topic relates to or has impacted science and brainstorm related keywords. From a scientific standpoint, we could look at the following questions:
- How does nuclear power work?
- What was nuclear power created for originally? What is it used for now?
- How is nuclear power considered a better choice for the environment?
- What concerns do environmentalists have over nuclear power?
Suggested Databases
The list below are some examples of the library's databases that you can use to search for primary and secondary sources. Thinking about your search strategies, we might start to brainstorm by thinking of keywords.
- Chernobyl AND design
- nuclear power AND technology AND design
- Chernobyl AND reactor AND fail OR failure
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowOffers a collection of full-text, scholarly journals and eBooks in science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
- Science Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowFull text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation
- Biological Science Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
- Environment Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowContains full-text for hundreds of journals and monographs covering the areas of agriculture, ecosystems, energy, and affiliated areas of study.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowAccessScience is an online resource that contains material covering all major scientific disciplines, including links to primary research material, videos, animations, and curriculum maps for teachers. The McGraw Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms is also integrated into the search function.
- eBook Collection from Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new windoweBook Collection from Taylor & Francis offers a comprehensive eBook collection that delivers more than 12,000 references in over 350 subject areas and more than 40 collections. Includes ENGnetBASE
