IDS 404 - Popular Culture
Course guide developed specifically for IDS 404 to help support the research and learning processes.
Humanities
If you were researching 2001: A Space Odyssey through the Humanities lens, you would think about how this topic relates to or has impacted human action or work. Consider the following questions that are reflective of humanities centric thought:
- Which directors or film makers did 2001: A Space Odyssey inspire and in which films can you see Kubrick's influence?
- Which cinematic achievements influenced or inspired Kubrick to create 2001: A Space Odyssey?
Suggested Databases
The list of databases below are some options that you can look through for topics related to the humanities. Before searching, let's strategize on constructing a few example searches.
Keywords and search strings might include:
- "2001: A Space Odyssey" AND inspiration
- Kubrick AND Influence
- "2001: A Space Odyssey" AND (achievement OR legacy
- Arts & Humanities Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe definitive database of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. With indexing for 1,700 journals from 1964 to present, this database is without question the most important bibliographic reference tool for students and scholars of U.S. and Canadian history.
- ARTSTOR This link opens in a new windowDigital library of more than one million images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and social sciences. Please note that ARTSTOR is not available on mobile browsers/phones.
- Humanities International Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowComprehensive collection of journals in the humanities, with full-text for approximately 1,200.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowDatabase of ebooks and archival issues of scholarly journals. SNHU Subscribes to Arts & Sciences Archive Collections I to XV.
If you encounter issues accessing resources, please try clearing your browser's cache and cookies. - Academic Search Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAcademic Search Ultimate includes Academic Search Complete. Academic Search Ultimate is a multidisciplinary database that offers an unprecedented collection of peer-reviewed, full-text journals, including many journals indexed in leading citation indexes. Contains over 10,000 full-text journals and magazines as well as over 9,000 full-text peer-reviews journals.
