IDS 404 - Popular Culture
Science
You’ll pick and research your own topic, but to think about how you’ll explore and research your topic through the lens, consider the following example.
If you were researching 2001: A Space Odyssey through the Science lens, you would think about how this topic relates to or has impacted science and brainstorm related keywords. If it helps, consider:
- In what ways did Kubrick's vision of the future in 2001: A Space Odyssey match or not match the reality of scientific advancement?
- In what ways does 2001: A Space Odyssey's portrayal of AI fit with our current understanding of the technology?
- How was 2001: A Space Odyssey's portrayal of space flight innovative for the time?
Suggested Databases
The list below are some examples of the library's databases that you can use to search for primary and secondary sources. Thinking about your search strategies, we might start to brainstorm by thinking of keywords.
Including the keyword: Science, might not be very helpful, but searching "2001: A Space Odyssey" AND Space Exploration, could be. The results will be related to your topic and focused on the scientific aspects. Other searches might include:
- "2001: A Space Odyssey" AND (AI OR Artificial Intelligence)
- "2001: A Space Odyssey" AND Technology
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowOffers a collection of full-text, scholarly journals and eBooks in science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
- Science Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowFull text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation
- Biological Science Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThis interdisciplinary database offers abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Supporting over two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from over 6000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs and selected books and patents.
- Environment Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowContains full-text for hundreds of journals and monographs covering the areas of agriculture, ecosystems, energy, and affiliated areas of study.
