Chicago Style: Basics
Hanging Indent
The bibliography entry text should be left-justified; if an entry is more than one line, indent the subsequent line(s) half an inch from the left margin. For more information, please see the CMOS 14.19: Notes and bibliography—an overview or 14.62: Format and placement of bibliography.
NOTE: The library's webpage doesn't show the hanging indent in our examples.
Books
Books by a Single Author
General Format:
2. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, Title of Work (Publisher, Year), page(s).
For Example:
2. Barbara Brooks Tomblin, The Civil War on the Mississippi: Union Sailors, Gunboat Captains, and the Campaign to Control the River (The University Press of Kentucky, 2016), 15-24.
Shortened Notes:
13. Tomblin, Civil War on the Mississippi, 50.
14. Tomblin, 65.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Tomblin, Barbara Brooks. The Civil War on the Mississippi: Union Sailors, Gunboat Captains, and the Campaign to Control the River. The University Press of Kentucky, 2016.
Books by Two Authors (or editors)
General Format:
5. AuthorFirstNameA AuthorLastNameA and AuthorFirstNameB AuthorLastNameB, Title of Work (Publisher, Year), page(s).
OR
6. AuthorFirstNameA AuthorLastNameA, AuthorFirstNameB AuthorLastNameB, and AuthorFirstNameC AuthorLastNameC, Title of Work (Publisher, Year), page(s).
For Example:
5. John Dooley and Robert Emmett Curran, John Dooley's Civil War: An Irish American's Journey in the First Virginia Infantry Regiment (Univ Tennessee Press, 2012), 34.
Shortened Notes:
15. Dooley and Curran, John Dooley's Civil War, 49.
16. Dooley and Curran, 67.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Dooley, John, and Robert Emmett Curran. John Dooley's Civil War: An Irish American's Journey in the First Virginia Infantry Regiment. Univ Tennessee Press, 2012.
Books by Two Authors (or editors) with the Same Family Name
General Format:
9. AuthorFirstNameA AuthorLastNameA and AuthorFirstNameB AuthorLastNameB, Title of Work (Publisher, Year), page(s).
For Example:
9. Nandini Sundar and Aparna Sundar, Civil Wars in South Asia: State, Sovereignty, Development (Sage Publications Pvt. Ltd, 2014), 102-124.
Shortened Notes:
17. Sundar and Sundar, Civil Wars in South Asia, 93.
18. Sundar and Sundar, 102.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Sundar, Nandini, and Aparna Sundar. Civil Wars in South Asia: State, Sovereignty, Development. Sage Publications Pvt. Ltd, 2014.
Books by Three or More Authors (or editors)
General Format:
11. AuthorFirstNameA AuthorLastNameA et al., Title of Work (Publisher, Year), page(s).
For Example:
11. George Folsom et al., History of Libraries (Shapiro Library Press, 2017), 24.
Shortened Notes:
19. Folsom et al., History of Libraries, 99.
20. Folsom et al., 57.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Folsom, George, Virginia Smith, Thomas Pepe, and Linda Burns. History of Libraries. Shapiro Library Press, 2017.
Chapter of a Single-Author Book
General Format:
6. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, “Title of Chapter,” in Title of Book (Publisher, Year), page(s).
For Example:
6. G. J. Meyer, “A Revolution in the Making,” in The Tudors: The Complete Story of England's Most Notorious Dynasty (Delacorte Press, 2010), 116-134.
Shortened Notes:
21. Meyer, “Revolution in the Making,” 130.
22. Meyer, 123-9.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Meyer, G. J. “A Revolution in the Making.” In The Tudors: The Complete Story of England's Most Notorious Dynasty. Delacorte Press, 2010.
Chapter of a Multiauthor Book
General Format:
1. ContributorFirstName ContributorLastName, “Chapter Title,” in Title of Book, ed. EditorFirstName EditorLastName (Publisher, Year), page(s).
For Example:
1. Neil Qullliam, “Saudi Arabia and the Politics of Oil,” in Saudi Arabian Foreign Policy: Conflict and Cooperation, ed.Neil Partrick (I.B.Tauris, 2016), 30-51.
Shortened Notes:
23. Qullliam, “Saudi Arabia and the Politics of Oil,” 32.
24. Qullliam, 45-9.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Qullliam, Neil. “Saudi Arabia and the Politics of Oil.” In Saudi Arabian Foreign Policy: Conflict and Cooperation, edited by Neil Partrick. I.B.Tauris, 2016.
Multivolume Work as a Whole
General Format:
4. Title of Work, ed. EditorFirstName EditorLastName, # vols., (Publisher, Year).
For Example:
4. The History of England from the Accession of James the Second, ed. Charles Harding Firth, 8 vols., (AMS Press, 1968).
Shortened Notes:
25. History of England.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Firth, Charles Harding, ed. The History of England from the Accession of James the Second. 8 vols. AMS Press, 1968.
One Volume in a Multivolume Work
General Format:
8. Title of Work, EditorFirstName EditorLast Name, vol.#, Title of Volume, IndividualVolumeEditorFirst Name IndividualVolumeEditorLastName (Publisher, Year).
OR
9. EditorFirstName EditorLastName, ed., Title of Work (Publisher, Year), vol#: page(s).
OR
9. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, Title of Work. (Publisher, Year), vol#: page(s).
For Example:
8. The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr., ed. Clayborne Carson, vol. 7, To Save the Soul of America, January 1961-August 1962, ed. Tenisha Armstrong (University of California Press, 2014).
Shortened Notes:
See note 1
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Carson, Clayborne, ed. The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr. Vol. 7, To Save the Soul of America, January 1961–August 1962, edited by Tenisha Armstrong. University of California Press, 2014.
OR
Armstrong, Tenisha, ed. To Save the Soul of America, January 1961–August 1962. Vol. 7 of The Papers of Martin Luther King, Jr., edited by Clayborne Carson. University of California Press, 1992–.
See note 1
eBooks
General Format:
2. AuthorFirstName AuthorLastName, Title of Work (Publisher, Year), page(s), DatabaseName or URL.
For Example:
2. Barbara Brooks Tomblin, The Civil War on the Mississippi: Union Sailors, Gunboat Captains, and the Campaign to Control the River (The University Press of Kentucky, 2016), 92, eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
Shortened Notes:
29. Tomblin, Civil War on the Mississippi, 93.
30. Tomblin, 49-56.
Corresponding Bibliography Entry:
Tomblin, Barbara Brooks. The Civil War on the Mississippi: Union Sailors, Gunboat Captains, and the Campaign to Control the River. Lexington, Kentucky: The University Press of Kentucky, 2016. eBook Collection (EBSCOhost).
See note 2
1 There are multiple ways to cite one volume (in notes, shortened notes, and a bibliography) depending on different variables including whether the volume has authors and editors, a different title, and a different publication date. See 14.20: Citing a particular volume in a note This link opens in a new window for more information.
2 Inclusion of a URL depends on different variables such as whether or not a book is published online and in print. See 14.60: Books consulted online This link opens in a new window for more information.