Researching a Company
Do you have a particular company in mind that you'd like to work for? Are you researching open jobs and interested in finding out more information on a particular company or industry? Are you looking to create a target list of companies with potential job opportunities? The web and library resources listed below are designed to help you find information about companies and industries.
Company Websites
When you look for information about a company, begin by searching for their "Investor Relations" site, or "About" page, rather than their commerce website where they market and sell their products or services. Here is an example of the difference between those two types of websites using Target, Inc.:
Target shopping website - Where consumers search for items to purchase
Target Investor Relations website - Where company information resides
This page includes an "About" section, Careers @ Target, currents news on the company, their corporate social responsibility practices, investor information, and recent press releases.
FAQ about Investor Relations websites:
Websites for Researching a Company (Domestic & International)
Salaries, Reviews, Corporate Culture, Company facts, and more!
These websites provide resources for learning about a company. Remember to take all reviews with a grain of salt and look for overall trends in reviews (e.g. no room for advancement, low comparative pay, etc.) versus focusing on individual complaints. Like Yelp, many people are more inspired to write a review after a bad experience, than a good one!
- Indeed This link opens in a new windowView company reviews and salary information. For international companies, select "Countries" from the banner at bottom of the Indeed home page.
- Monster This link opens in a new windowAmong other information, this site has a useful salary comparison tool for viewing what your salaries would be based on your qualifications. Monster International includes job postings, but not international company information.
- Glassdoor This link opens in a new windowGlassdoor requires users to create an account. Through this site you can read company reviews by employees, check the CEO's rating, research interview questions, and view reported salaries.
Databases for Researching a Company
The following library databases will help you find information on specific companies and industries. Many of these databases will allow you to create lists of companies based on specific criteria like industry, size, location, etc.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new windowD&B Hoovers — which combines the best of the former Hoovers solution, insights-rich Dun & Bradstreet data, and the robust Avention OneSource platform — offers deeper insights on your most important industries, accounts, and contacts. It offers one-of-a-kind functionality to help you quickly analyze and understand companies at a level that was previously unheard of. SNHU’s subscription includes CRUSH and One Stop Reports. FAQ: Where can I find income statements and balance sheets? Please log out of D&B Hoovers when you are finished using the database. Note: Some users are reporting errors, such as requests for a password pop up when attempting to access from off-campus.
Please try clearing your browser's cookies/cache. Please also try a different browser. - MarketLine This link opens in a new windowQuality business reports including company profiles, market reports, industry outlooks and country economic and demographic conditions.
- Mergent ARCHIVES This link opens in a new windowAn online database that provides access to a vast archive of company, equity and industry information, including the 'Moody's Manuals' from inception;
- Mergent ONLINE This link opens in a new windowIn-depth public and private company profiles, financial information, and industry overviews. Includes Mergent EventsData, Mergent Horizon, and Investext. Read this FAQ for information on how to access and use Investext. Read this FAQ on how to access income statements and balance sheets in Mergent Online. Read this FAQ for information on Mergent Horizon.
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep archives and the latest stories. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures. The Company Dossier module also allows you to identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present. Nexis Uni is the new platform to replace LexisNexis Academic, which has been phased out by the vendor.
Researching an International Company
Are you interested in working internationally? Do you have a particular international company or industry in mind that you'd like to work for? The web and library resources listed below are designed to help you find information about international companies and industries.
In particular, the Shapiro Library's A to Z World Business This link opens in a new window database provides a wealth of information concerning other countries and differences in business practices. In this database you will find information about Business Culture (Decision Making, Meeting Protocols, Negotiating, Entertaining, Attire, Businesswomen, Business Hours), Gift Giving, Greetings and Courtesies, Stereotypes, Time Orientation, Women in Business and Culture, and much more!
- A to Z International Business This link opens in a new windowComprehensive country-by-country resource for success in international business and trade.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new windowD&B Hoovers — which combines the best of the former Hoovers solution, insights-rich Dun & Bradstreet data, and the robust Avention OneSource platform — offers deeper insights on your most important industries, accounts, and contacts. It offers one-of-a-kind functionality to help you quickly analyze and understand companies at a level that was previously unheard of. SNHU’s subscription includes CRUSH and One Stop Reports. FAQ: Where can I find income statements and balance sheets? Please log out of D&B Hoovers when you are finished using the database. Note: Some users are reporting errors, such as requests for a password pop up when attempting to access from off-campus.
Please try clearing your browser's cookies/cache. Please also try a different browser. - Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) This link opens in a new windowProvides country, industry, and management analysis. Includes Country Reports
- Euromonitor Passport This link opens in a new windowPassport is a global market research database providing statistics, analysis, reports, surveys and breaking news on industries, countries and consumers worldwide.
- GoinGlobal This link opens in a new windowGoinGlobal contains country-specific career and employment resources for more than 80 locations.
- Uniworld Online This link opens in a new windowInformation on corporations, government agencies, organizations, institutions, and individuals involved in international commerce or investment. Previous called "American and Foreign Companies with Global Operations" or "American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries Online"
