Culturally Responsive Teaching

The following example resources should help you better understand the concept of culturally responsive teaching. Take a moment to skim and read any resources below. Can you make connections to see where you might be interested in learning more?

The video below Creating a Culturally Responsive Classroom This link opens in a new window from ISTE, serves as a good introduction to this topic.

Example Resources

4 ways to use tech to create a culturally responsive classroom
2019 ISTE blog post.
Bright Ribbons: Weaving Culturally Responsive Teaching Into the Elementary Classroom
The Seven Principles of Culturally Responsive Teaching demonstrate how CRT is woven into every aspect of the school day, from the teacher’s personhood, to the classroom appearance, materials and function, to the methods of instruction, forms of testing, and classroom management skills (2017).
Chapter Five: Cultivating Awareness
Chapter in Reclaiming Personalized Learning: A Pedagogy for Restoring Equity and Humanity in Our Classrooms. In a model that values humanized personalization—one where connection between human beings sustainably powers intrinsic motivation and meaningful interaction—students are partners in personalizing and humanizing the classroom. It is their curiosity, misconceptions, prior knowledge, and successes that propel learning forward.
Chapter 10: Culturally Responsive Teaching
Chapter in Preventing Problem Behaviors that covers CRT (2010).
In the Age of Fake News: Engendering Dialogue and Critical Media Literacy through Culturally Responsive Teaching.
In the age of fake news, how can educators manage the influx of misinformation while being responsive to the individual needs of a diverse classroom with access to a vast array of information? This article aligns theories of participatory democracy and pedagogy to describe how educators can facilitate and engender dialogue in response to misinformation. Because classroom environments are collaborative forums where truth claims can be examined and discussed, we draw on culturally responsive teaching and critical media literacy as primary strategies to respond to information analysis in the age of fake news (2020).
Culturally Responsive Teaching: Its Application in Higher Education Environments
The application of culturally responsive teaching (CRT) in this article is used to provide a background into the instructional concept of CRT in higher educational settings and to provide examples for classroom pedagogical practice. This article provides instructional approaches that can be used in higher education classes to promote a cultural context to engage preservice teaching candidates who are seeking initial certification to become teachers-of-record and graduate-level teachers who are certified to understand and embrace the intersection of race, gender, religion, and regional cultures that contribute (2020).

Databases for further research

Now that you have an idea of what these concepts and theories are and how they have been used in some examples, continue learning by researching on your own. The databases below aren't the only places you can look, but give them a try first! What additional contexts do you want to explore in these areas?

ERIC - EBSCO This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and abstracts from education-related journals and document published by ERIC.
Education Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new window
Magazines, scholarly (peer-reviewed) journals and reports in the field of education
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
The SAGE Journals platform includes full text of scholarly journals from SAGE publications in many disciplines, such as, education, sociology, women's studies, criminal justice and business.