Key Journals
The Multi-Search
Search for books, articles, and more using the Multi-Search:
Recommended Databases
The Shapiro Library subscribes numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications. The following is a list of some of the best database for doing research on the subject of engineering:
- AccessEngineering This link opens in a new windowAccessEngineering is an award-winning engineering reference tool for professionals, academics, and students that provides seamless access to the world's best-known, most-used collection of authoritative, regularly updated engineering reference information.
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) This link opens in a new windowThe IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Provides access to over four million articles, conference proceedings, technical standards, ebooks, and more on topics in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.Includes Wiley, MIT, and SAE International ebook collections.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowThe Shapiro Library's subscription includes Ei Compendex and Ei Inspec. Engineering Village allows you to search Inspec and Compendex simultaneously or alone. Inspec covers the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology. It includes journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations from 1898 to present. Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
- Knovel This link opens in a new windowKnovel is an eBook database. Knovel's content collection includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
- ASTM Standards & Engineering Digital Library (American Society for Testing and Materials) This link opens in a new windowOnline access to the digital edition of every book, paper and journal article ever published by ASTM including more than 1,500+ Manuals and Special Technical Publications, totaling more than 35,600 chapters and papers and more than 17,000 journal articles. ASTM Digital Library covers a broad range of engineering disciplines including: aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science and solar engineering. NOTE: Your browser must be set to accept third party cookies to use this resource, please see the FAQ "How do I set my browser to accept cookies?"
- ASME Digital Collection (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) This link opens in a new windowThe American Society of Mechanical Engineers, ASME, conducts one of the world's largest technical publishing operations in the world, offering thousands of titles including some of the profession's most prestigious journals. The ASME Digital Collection is ASME’s repository of current and archival literature featuring ASME's Transaction Journals from 1960 to the present. Please note that we currently only have access to ASME journals, not ebooks and conference proceedings.
- Science Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowFull text and images for the leading periodicals in science and technology. Subject coverage includes computers, engineering, physics, telecommunications, and transportation
- JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments) This link opens in a new windowJoVE is the world's first peer-reviewed scientific video journal and It publishes experimental techniques in a visual format with detailed text protocols. Subjects covered include STEM such as engineering, chemistry, medicine, biology, and environment.
Aviation Specific Databases
- Jane's All the World's Aircraft This link opens in a new windowJane's All the World's Aircraft (IHS) includes: Development & Production which sets the standard in aviation reference, providing exhaustive technical detail on civil and military aircraft in production or under development around the world; In Service which is a comprehensive reference resource on military and commercial aircraft upgrade programs around the world; and Unmanned which is the leading resource for information on hundreds of UAVs, aerial targets and related subsystems in service or under development around the world. NOTE: There is a limit of 10 concurrent users for this database. If you receive an error message while trying to access this database please try again later.
- Aviation Week Intelligence Network (AWIN) This link opens in a new windowAviation Week is the largest information and services provider to the global commercial, defense, maintenance/repair/overhaul (MRO), space and business aviation communities and plays a critical role in connecting industry professionals worldwide. AWIN delivers an unsurpassed portfolio of information products and services for all sectors of the aerospace and defense industry. From award winning publications to online analytical services, AWIN provides intelligence that informs and enables the global aerospace and defense industry and provides professionals with a strategic business advantage.
- AIAA Journals (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics) This link opens in a new windowThe American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics (AIAA) is the premier provider of information on aerospace technology, engineering, and science. These titles document the most important developments and the latest research in air and space history. Access to these journals is provided through ARC – Aerospace Research Central.
More Science & Engineering Databases
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowOffers a collection of full-text, scholarly journals and eBooks in science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
- AccessScience This link opens in a new windowAccessScience is an online resource that contains material covering all major scientific disciplines, including links to primary research material, videos, animations, and curriculum maps for teachers. The McGraw Hill Dictionary of Scientific and Technical Terms is also integrated into the search function.
- SPIE Digital Library (International Society for Optics and Photonics) This link opens in a new windowThe SPIE Digital Library is the most extensive resource available on optics and photonics, providing unprecedented access to more than 466,000 technical papers from SPIE Journals and Conference Proceedings and more than 310 eBooks from SPIE Press from 1962 to the present. More than 18,000 new technical papers and 25 eBooks are added annually.
Google Scholar
It's true that you can find some high-quality, scholarly articles online. If you're going to search online for articles, make sure to evaluate your sources thoroughly. Check out our Google Like a Librarian guide for search tips or ask a librarian (ask@snhu.libanswers.com) if you need more help.