EG 110 - Engineering Design 1
Use this Library Research Guide to help find resources on the resources on water resources, water supply management, valve design, rainfall monitoring, and 3-D printing- scholarly articles, books, websites, etc. Also info on careers, group work, and libra
Sample readings and search tips
It might be helpful to have a holistic view of the water challenges people face in rural locations to help you better understand the problems and to think of potential solutions. The resources listed below can give you a sense of how water scarcity impacts a population and some of the proposed solutions from the micro to the macro level.
You have the opportunity to conduct your own library research on this topic as well. As you search try to think about various words that will help you explore a topic. Some sample key words you might try are:
- Water conservation
- Water supply
- Water scarcity
- Kenya OR Africa OR rural
- Water use
- Drinking water
Helpful background information
You may want to consult a reference source to find general information about the climate, geography, social conditions, and other aspects. Try searching for the country in one of the resources below such as Credo.
- Credo This link opens in a new windowOnline reference library that provides access to a selection of encyclopedias, dictionaries, thesauri and books of quotations in general and subject-specific disciplines. Credo includes interactive mind maps.
Below are some sample e-books and research articles:
Climate Variability and Water Resources Degradation in Kenya by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9780821365175Publication Date: 2006-01-04
Sustainable Water Resources in the Built Environment by Call Number: Available OnlineISBN: 9781780401454Publication Date: 2010-04-29
- Economic analysis of rainwater harvesting systems comparing developing and developed countries: A case study of Australia and KenyaRainwater is a naturally occurring potentially clean source of water. There has been an increased interest in rainwater harvesting (RWH) in both developing and developed nations. RWH can alleviate the effects of accelerated urbanisation and improve their water security in the face of uncertain future climate patterns. Australia's management of her millennium drought has proved the effectiveness of RWH systems. Success in Australia is promising for developing countries with inadequate water supply for drinking and sanitation and unreliable centralised water supply systems.
Recommended databases for further research
- Environment Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowContains full-text for hundreds of journals and monographs covering the areas of agriculture, ecosystems, energy, and affiliated areas of study.
- ProQuest (ProQuest Central and Primary Source) This link opens in a new windowProQuest includes all ProQuest Central databases as well as many primary source databases. If you would like to access ProQuest Central only, you can do so at the following link: ProQuest Central This link opens in a new window.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowOffers a collection of full-text, scholarly journals and eBooks in science, technology, medicine, and social sciences.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWhether looking at data, books, journals, proceedings or patents, Web of Science provides a single destination to access the most reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Quality, curated content delivered alongside information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools make it easy for students, faculty, researchers, analysts, and program managers to pinpoint the most relevant research to inform their work. PLEASE NOTE: This database only allows up to 100 users at the same time. If you are unable to access this database, please try again later.
