EG 110 - Engineering Design 1
Use this Library Research Guide to help find resources on the resources on water resources, water supply management, valve design, rainfall monitoring, and 3-D printing- scholarly articles, books, websites, etc. Also info on careers, group work, and libra
Sample readings and search tips
For design options which help to mitigate the loss of water you may need to move beyond rural water waste and look at everyday design options you might encounter at restaurants, sporting events, and other public areas where limiting water use is standard.
As you search try to think about various words that you might use to explore a topic. Some sample key words you might try are:
- Metering
- Faucet
- Tap
- Flow-limiting
- Valve
- Water conservation
Below are some sample research articles:
- Metering faucet. (2011, February). Plumbing & Mechanical, 28(12), 52.Metering faucet: The Delta DEMD 800 Electronic Metering Faucet is contemporary-styled and ideal for installations where a metering-type product is required in addition to a great design. The faucet functions by lightly touching the button integrated into the end of the spout. The water turns off automatically after the factory-set eight-second flow time, or the user can touch the spout again to stop the flow of water.
- Fitzgerald, J., & Tanzillo, P. (2015). Quiet evolution. PM Engineer, 12–14.The article discusses the innovation in the technology and components that have occurred within a metering faucet. Topics discussed include the various types of cartridges used in metering faucets due to innovation like the modular cartridge with a spring that made an actuator go up and down, the electronic faucets that are designed to activate when motion is detected and the continuing innovation coming from understanding the end-user environments where the faucets perform such as sediment.
- Faucet Add-On Water Supply Management System Using Smart SensorsAbstract: Due to growing demands of water in the upcoming years and with many countries severely impacted by water crises today, we would need a more efficient system than traditional techniques of domestic water management. This paper aims at developing an efficient and cost effective method of placing an upper limit on the amount of water used daily. Our prototype is a faucet device which has two modes of operation: running mode and filling mode. User is pre-alarmed when more than optimum water amount is being dispensed.
Recommended databases for further research
- IEEE Xplore Digital Library (Institute of Electrical and Electronic Engineers) This link opens in a new windowThe IEEE Xplore digital library is a powerful resource for discovery of and access to scientific and technical content published by the IEEE (Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers) and its publishing partners. Provides access to over four million articles, conference proceedings, technical standards, ebooks, and more on topics in electrical engineering, computer science and electronics.Includes Wiley, MIT, and SAE International ebook collections.
- Knovel This link opens in a new windowKnovel is an eBook database. Knovel's content collection includes material properties, process and design information, best practices, equations and formulations for specific industries and engineering disciplines.
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new windowThe Shapiro Library's subscription includes Ei Compendex and Ei Inspec. Engineering Village allows you to search Inspec and Compendex simultaneously or alone. Inspec covers the fields of physics, electronics, computing, control engineering and information technology. It includes journal articles, conference proceedings, patents, and dissertations from 1898 to present. Compendex is a comprehensive interdisciplinary engineering database with journals and conference materials dating from 1884.
