No college or university library can provide immediate access to every journal, magazine, newspaper, or publication that exists in the world of media or that may have articles cited in its online databases. Our Interlibrary Loan service allows students to request articles that aren't readily available through the Shapiro Library.
Before making requests, please check the availability of the periodical or journal via our online journal list. We may already have it in our collection of databases: Periodical Finder This link opens in a new window.
All article requests must be transmitted using the Interlibrary Loan This link opens in a new window link located on the Shapiro Library page. Interlibrary Loan requests submitted in any other format will be directed to this specific form for resubmission.
The Interlibrary Loan service link will require you to log in to your Interlibrary Loan account. Most article interlibrary loans are digitally transmitted and deposited into your Interlibrary Loan account which you can access by clicking the Interlibrary Loan link on the library homepage. The complete process to fulfill your request will take approximately 2 to 4 business days. Some resources may take longer to acquire if not many libraries own them.
Please check your SNHU email daily until your article request is filled in case our staff needs to contact you for clarifications.
NOTE: If you require an article for a Sunday due date you MUST request before Friday. This will increase the chance of us being able to get the resource to you in time. Most libraries do not have interlibrary loan staff available on the weekends to send items. If you do put in a request Friday-Sunday and need it by Sunday, it is most likely your request will not be fulfilled before the deadline and will end up being canceled.
In order for all of the University’s library students & faculty to have reasonable access to Interlibrary Loan services, Interlibrary Loan submissions are limited to 5 per person, per day. The timeframe for materials requested to be delivered will depend upon the volume requested, the provider’s location, and the means of transmission from the lending library.
Currently, there are no charges for the Interlibrary Loan service for articles.
Access our full Interlibrary Loan Policy.
Off-campus students & faculty may request copies of articles from the Library's in-house print journals and periodicals by submitting an Interlibrary Loan Request Form. In the "Notes" box at the bottom of the Request Form, please indicate that the publication and article are only available via the Shapiro Library Print Journal Collection.
Use of copied articles must be in accordance with copyright laws of the United States (Title 17, U.S. Code).
Before making requests, please check the availability of the periodical or journal via our online journal list as we may already have it available in one of our online article databases by using the Periodical Finder This link opens in a new window.
The Periodical Finder This link opens in a new window, located under the drop-down tab "Find Articles, eBooks & More" on the top toolbar of the Shapiro Library Homepage is a drop tab: "Find Articles, eBooks, & More" that includes an online journal title list titled "Periodical Finder" that includes all of the full-text periodicals subscribed to within our online databases as well as our in-house print journal, magazine and newspaper collections. Those records will include a date range of coverage and indicate the title to be in: Shapiro Library Print Journal Collection.
There are no charges for copying or forwarding articles from our in-house periodical collections. Articles do not have to be returned to the Library.