Skip to Main Content
Accessibility Information
Shapiro Library

Off-Campus Library and Interlibrary Loan Services

This LibGuide outlines the policies and procedures for off-campus students, faculty & staff utilizing the services and resources of the Shapiro Library.

How Do I Access the Shapiro Library's Databases?


The only pathway to access the Shapiro Library's online database resources is through the "Shapiro Library" link in the mySNHU portal.

Once you are on the Library's web page you can locate our databases by using the A-Z Database List link (which is located in the Quick Links box on the left-hand side of the homepage), or from the subject or course specific Shapiro Library Research Guides that can be found through the "Research Guide" link in the top navigation bar on the library homepage.

Why Use Library Databases?

Library databases have been selected by librarians on the bases of authority, coverage, and accuracy. They provide students with scholarly information appropriate for research written by experts in the field.

Most of the articles and other content in the databases cannot be accessed anywhere on the open Internet.

The Library's databases are available 24/7 from anywhere!

Why Am I Getting an Error Code When I Try to Access the Library Databases?

If you see a "bad request", "header field is too large", or another error message when you try to access a library database, take a look at the FAQ I'm having trouble accessing library resources (bad request, header too large, and other errors). What do I do? for steps to fix the issue as well as who to contact for assistance.