RN-BSN Library Guide
Clinical Practice Guidelines
About Clinical Practice Guidelines: Clinical Practice Guidelines (CPGs) are evidence-based resources intended to optimize patient care through best practices. These CPGs are informed by a systematic review of evidence and an assessment of the benefits and costs of alternative care options. This list of CPGs is not all-inclusive. You are expected to search for pertinent CPGs when applicable to the work you are doing in class or in the clinical practicums. While in your clinical practicum, remember to follow the policies and guidelines of the state practice act and of the organization/facility where you are completing the required clinical hours for practicum.
Guidelines for Common Diseases Seen in Primary Care
- 2021 GINA Report, Global Strategy for Asthma Management and Prevention This link opens in a new windowThe 2021 update of the Global Strategy for Asthma Management and Prevention incorporates new scientific information about asthma based on a review of recent scientific literature by an international panel of experts on the GINA Science Committee. This comprehensive and practical resource about one of the most common chronic lung diseases worldwide contains extensive citations from the scientific literature and forms the basis for other GINA documents and programs.
- American Academy of Dermatology Association This link opens in a new windowThe Academy is dedicated to promoting and encouraging dermatology research and the application of these findings to improving patient care. This includes the development of rigorous, evidence-based guidelines of care for dermatologic conditions.
- American Academy of Family Physicians This link opens in a new windowThis website contains basic clinical practice guidelines relevant to diseases/disorders seen in family practice
- American Academy of Nurse Practitioners (AANP) This link opens in a new windowThis website has an area to browse different clinical areas that will open to multiple clinical practice guidelines and patient education for each topic.
- American College of Cardiology This link opens in a new windowThe College recognizes its responsibility in bringing a clinical view and a patient voice to medical innovation, toward the goal of improved patient care.
- American College of Physicians This link opens in a new windowThis website contains good guidelines for breast/colon cancer screenings and also COVID-19 guidelines.
- CDC Introduction to Epidemiology This link opens in a new windowEpidemiology is data-driven and relies on a systematic and unbiased approach to the collection, analysis, and interpretation of data.
- Medical Guidelines Clearinghouse This link opens in a new windowAccess to thousands of clinical practice guidelines for medical professionals.
- National Center for Complementary and Integrative Health - Clinical Practice Guidelines This link opens in a new window“Clinical practice guidelines are systematically developed statements to assist practitioner and patient decisions about appropriate health care for specific clinical circumstances.”(Institute of Medicine, 1990)
- National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute This link opens in a new windowDiscover the goals, challenges, and initiatives that have shaped and will continue to shape prevention, diagnosis, and treatment for the NHLBI’s scientific focus areas.
- US Preventative Task Force - Recommendations This link opens in a new windowThe U.S. Preventive Services Task Force is an independent, volunteer panel of national experts in disease prevention and evidence-based medicine. The Task Force works to improve the health of people nationwide by making evidence-based recommendations about clinical preventive services.
- Veterans Affairs / DoD Clinical Practice Guidelines This link opens in a new windowVHA, in collaborations with the Department of Defense (DoD) and other leading professional organizations, has been developing clinical practice guidelines since the early 1990s. In 2010 the Institute of Medicine identified VA/DoD as leaders in clinical practice guideline development.
Common Guidelines for Cardiac Disorders
The College recognizes its responsibility in bringing a clinical view and a patient voice to medical innovation, toward the goal of improved patient care.
- CDC - Global Health Reports This link opens in a new windowIncludes World Health Organization (WHO) statistics and reports
- Global Initiative for Chronic Obstructive Disease (GOLD) This link opens in a new windowEvidence-based strategy document for COPD diagnosis, management, and prevention, with citations from the scientific literature.
- GINA Report, Global Strategy for Asthma Management and Prevention This link opens in a new windowThe 2021 update of the Global Strategy for Asthma Management and Prevention incorporates new scientific information about asthma based on a review of recent scientific literature by an international panel of experts on the GINA Science Committee. This comprehensive and practical resource about one of the most common chronic lung diseases worldwide contains extensive citations from the scientific literature and forms the basis for other GINA documents and programs.
Guidelines for Diseases of Nervous System
Reading: Epilepsies: Diagnosis and Management https://www.ahajournals.org/doi/10.1161/HYP.0000000000000065
To access the guideline, navigate to the Download guidance (PDF) tab on the "Epilepsies: diagnosis and management" page. This guideline from the National Institutes for Health and Care Excellence aids in diagnosing, classifying, treating, and managing epilepsy and seizures. Through this resource, you will understand the various practices and treatment strategies that can help patients cope, improve their health outcomes, and actively participate in their day-to-day functions. The resource further provides guidelines for drug therapies for epilepsy and seizures during pregnancy.Academy of Neurology. (2018). Practice guidelines recommendation: Disease modifying therapies for adults with multiple sclerosis. https://www.aan.com/Guidelines/home/GuidelineDetail/898
Women's Health
- AAFP Women’s Health Clinical Recommendations and Guidelines This link opens in a new windowThe American Academy of Family Physicians develops evidence-based clinical practice guidelines (CPGs), which serve as a framework for clinical decisions and supporting best practices and are a key aspect of patient-centered care.
- HRSA Women’s Preventive Service Guidelines This link opens in a new windowThe purpose of the Women’s Preventive Services Guidelines is to improve women’s health across the lifespan by identifying preventive services and screenings to be used in clinical practice.
- American Cancer Society: Recommendations for the Early Detection of Breast Cancer This link opens in a new windowBreast cancer screening guidelines for healthcare professionals provided by the American Cancer Society.
Mental Health
PCSS is a program funded by the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA) created in response to the opioid overdose epidemic to train primary care providers in the evidence-based prevention and treatment of opioid use disorders (OUD) and treatment of chronic pain. PCSS provides clinical practice guidelines related to opioid use disorders and the treatment of chronic pain.
Sexually Transmitted Infections & Diseases
- CDC's Sexually Transmitted Infections (STI) Treatment Guidelines This link opens in a new windowCDC’s Sexually Transmitted Infections (STI) Treatment Guidelines, 2021 provides current evidence-based prevention, diagnostic and treatment recommendations that replace the 2015 guidance. The recommendations are intended to be a source for clinical guidance. Healthcare providers should always assess patients based on their clinical circumstances and local burden.
Substance Abuse
- Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA): Clinical Guidance for Treating Pregnant and Parenting Women with Opioid Use Disorder and their Infants ThClinical Guidance for Treating Pregnant and Parenting Women With Opioid Use Disorder and Their Infants. Women with OUD and their infants face critical barriers to optimal care such as legal consequences in several states with statutes that sanction pregnant women with OUD. The goal of these efforts is to protect the fetus or infant from opioid exposure.
Clinical Support Tools
DynaMed
- DynaMed - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowDynaMed is a clinical reference tool of more than 3000 topics designed for physicians and health care professionals for use primarily at the point-of-care. DynaMed is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journal and systemic evidence review databases.
LexiComp
- Lexicomp Online This link opens in a new windowLexicomp provides point-of-care drug information including drug identification, drug dosing calculation, patient education materials, and more.
VisualDx
- VisualDx This link opens in a new windowVisualDx is an award-winning diagnostic clinical decision support system designed to enhance diagnostic accuracy, aid therapeutic decisions, and improve patient safety. Features include: an extensive curated medical image library; a smart search for chief complaints, diagnoses, and drug reactions; a custom patient-specific differential diagnosis builder.
UpToDate
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowUpToDate is an evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical decision support resource that assists with point-of-care decisions on patient care, diagnosis, and treatment. NOTE: All users must register for accounts to use this database. Please see the UpToDate access FAQ for account creation and renewal information.
