RN-BSN Library Guide
Interlibrary Loan
If you see an article that looks helpful, but you do not see the full-text link on the right, please submit an Interlibrary Loan request for it. It’s a free service for SNHU students and it generally only takes 2-4 business days to get you the PDF from a library that has it. This is highly recommended for nursing students as there are many nursing journals that put an embargo on the most recent issues.
Library Databases for Nursing
The Shapiro Library subscribes to numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, eBooks, and more from thousands of respected publications/publishers. The two primary nursing databases used are CINAHL Complete and Nursing Journals @Ovid. The following list is other databases that present different publications which may help in your research needs. You may need to look outside the nursing discipline literature for topics that touch on other related disciplines like psychology, education, or business as examples. Familiarizing yourself with the A-Z Database List and the different ways to sort our databases by subject, vendor, or type of material is important.
- CINAHL Complete - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowMost comprehensive nursing and allied health database. CINAHL covers nursing, biomedicine, alternative/complementary medicine, consumer health and 17 allied health disciplines.
- Cochrane - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAn essential source of high quality health care data for providers, patients, administrators, and educators. Includes the Cochrane Central Register of Controlled Trials, Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, and Cochrane Methodology Register.
- eBook Collection from Taylor & Francis This link opens in a new windoweBook Collection from Taylor & Francis offers a comprehensive eBook collection that delivers more than 12,000 references in over 350 subject areas and more than 40 collections. Includes ENGnetBASE
- Health & Medical Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowHealth and medical full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and specialties
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowProvides scholarly, full-text journals focusing on many medical disciplines and abstracts and indexing for over 550 journals
- MEDLINE - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowAuthoritative medical information on medicine, nursing, dentistry, and the health care system
- Nursing & Allied Health Database - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowReliable, comprehensive coverage of the fields of nursing and allied health including journals, evidence-based resources, video, dissertations, reference books and more
- Nursing Journals on Ovid This link opens in a new windowA collection of full-text journals in nursing, including "American Journal of Nursing" (AJN)
- R2 Digital Library This link opens in a new windowProvides access to a collection of health science ebooks from multiple publishers
- UpToDate This link opens in a new windowUpToDate is an evidence-based, peer-reviewed clinical decision support resource that assists with point-of-care decisions on patient care, diagnosis, and treatment. NOTE: All users must register for accounts to use this database. Please see the UpToDate access FAQ for account creation and renewal information.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowWhether looking at data, books, journals, proceedings or patents, Web of Science provides a single destination to access the most reliable, integrated, multidisciplinary research. Quality, curated content delivered alongside information on emerging trends, subject specific content and analysis tools make it easy for students, faculty, researchers, analysts, and program managers to pinpoint the most relevant research to inform their work. PLEASE NOTE: This database only allows up to 100 users at the same time. If you are unable to access this database, please try again later.
