Quality Improvement Readings
This image shows the quality improvement cycle in nursing in a circular patter with plan strategy at the top leading to develop and test strategy, leading to monitor strategy, leading to reassess and respond, leading back to the top element plan strategy.
Quality cycle image from the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality: https://www.ahrq.gov/cahps/quality-improvement/improvement-guide/4-approach-qi-process/index.html This link opens in a new window
- The Hospital Value-Based Purchasing (VBP) Program This link opens in a new windowRead this article for a short explanation of pay for performance.
- StatPearls: Change Management This link opens in a new windowThis information, from the National Library of Medicine, provides insight into change management, including information about change theories and models.
- 2024 Hospital National Patient Safety Goals This link opens in a new windowYou’ve seen this resource in a previous module, but it will also support you in your work in this module. This website from The Joint Commission provides information about the National Patient Safety Goals for various healthcare facilities. The one post often accessed is the link to the "Hospital 2024: National Patient Safety Goals" which leads to a helpful PDF document.
- AHRQ: Section 4: Ways to Approach the Quality Improvement Process This link opens in a new windowThis webpage provides information about various Improvement Models to carry out change.
- CDC Data and Statistics This link opens in a new windowThis website provides interactive tools to access data about healthcare concerns and topics.
- CMS.gov: Quality Reporting and Value-Based Programs & Initiatives This link opens in a new windowThis Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS) website provides links to information about QI initiatives and reporting requirements for various healthcare settings such as inpatient, outpatient, and ambulatory locations.
- CMS: HCAHPS: Patient's Perspectives of Care Survey This link opens in a new windowThis website provides information about the Hospital Consumer Assessment of Healthcare Providers and Systems (HCAHPS) survey. This survey gives an opportunity to consumers to report their experiences with healthcare providers and organizations.
- Find and Compare This link opens in a new windowThis Medicare website provides consumers with performance data about healthcare organizations and the services they provide.
- Health Resources & Services Administration Data reporting. This link opens in a new windowData and Maps on HRSA’s Health Care Programs.
- Leapfrog Hospital Safety Grade This link opens in a new windowThis website provides reports about hospital safety ratings that are self-reported by organizations.
- The Joint Commission (TJC) This link opens in a new windowThis website provides information about The Joint Commission (TJC) and the resources they provide for healthcare organizations, including accreditation for safety and quality care.
- The Joint Commission: Quality Check This link opens in a new windowThis website provides information about organizations that have achieved the Gold Seal of Approval® from The Joint Commission.
- QualityNet-Information associated with CMS Quality Programs This link opens in a new windowThis website provides information about quality in healthcare by providing resources and data reporting tools. It is important to the exchange of healthcare information.
- TJC: National Patient Safety Goals This link opens in a new windowThis webpage from The Joint Commission (TJC) provides information and resources about the various annual NPSGs.