Identifying Methodologies
SAGE Research Methods Database
The SAGE Research Methods database (Link below) provides definitions, tutorials, videos, cases, etc. about all the different types of research methodologies.
- SAGE Research Methods This link opens in a new windowThis links directly to the SAGE Research Methods database to investigate methodologies for your original research.
- Sage Research Methods Student HandoutLearn how SRM can help you with your research!
- Sage Research Methods LibGuideAnyone doing research at a university - whether they are doing a student research project or dissertation, or planning a large scale study - needs to use the right tools to plan their study, gather their data, and make sense of their findings. These tools are the 'research methods' of the social sciences.
This research guide is to help you in your exploration of research methods in the social sciences. In this guide are tips to find resources on the SAGE Research Methods platform. It will also guide you in finding the best literature to enable you to choose a methodology and launch into your research project.
SAGE Research Methods Research Tools
Click on the Research Tools tab at the top of the screen to see the following tools to help you learn about the different methods and select the tools you need to conduct your research study.
The Methods Map is a tool designed to help you understand how method concepts relate to one another using a visualization to understand the world of research methods more easily. The map has an entry for every method concept in SRM. It shows the definition of that term, and provides a link to the content on that subject. To the left of the term are any broader concepts related to the term, and to the right are any narrower concepts related to the term. There are also sometimes related terms below the selected entry. Clicking on a particular concept makes that concept central on the page, and shows broader, narrower and related terms for that particular concept.
Project Planner provides step-by-step guidance to students and researchers in designing and completing a research project. This tool is divided into chronological sections, allowing the user to start from the beginning of the research process or to navigate to specific stages. Just beginning your research project? Try Why Do Research? or Developing a Researchable Question. Problems collecting data? Navigate to Data Collection. Each section begins with a brief synopsis describing what will be covered in that stage, and ends with an interactive checklist to ensure all necessary steps have been taken. Throughout the planner, links to useful content such as video, the Methods Map, books, and journal articles are included.
Knowing which statistical test to use to answer your question is tricky. Use this simple tool to help narrow down the options!