Standard Rate & Data - SRDS Media Solutions
- SRDS Media Planning Platform This link opens in a new windowThe leading provider of media rates and data. Library subscribes to: Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source; and Interactive Advertising Source. Access Note: The database has a concurrent user limit. If you can't access SRDS please try again later. The Claritas 360 Platform can only be accessed via the latest 2 versions of Google Chrome.
TV Ratings
- Nexis Uni This link opens in a new windowNexis Uni provides full-text access to over 15,000 news, business, and legal sources. News coverage includes deep archives and the latest stories. Use the Company Dossier module to retrieve detailed company information and financial performance measures. The Company Dossier module also allows you to identify and compare companies matching specific criteria. This product also provides access to the renowned Shepard's Citations service for all federal and state court cases 1789-present. Nexis Uni is the new platform to replace LexisNexis Academic, which has been phased out by the vendor.
Other Forms of Advertising
- Clear Channel Outdoor This link opens in a new windowEstimates rates for billboards, posters, and other outdoor advertising.
Calculating Newspaper Ad Cost
SRDS frequently provides cost information for newspaper advertisements by the "column inch." To determine the number of column inches first count the number of columns your advertisement is wide (Most newspapers have a total of 6 columns on a page. Smaller format papers and tabloids might be 5 columns wide). Next get a ruler and measure the height of your ad. The example below is 5 columns wide and 18 inches tall. Multipy these two numbers to get the column inches: 5 X 18 = 90 column inches.
5 columns X 18 inches = 90 column inches
Next determine the cost per column inch of your newspaper under the "Rates and Policies" section of the paper's entry in SRDS. Note that there may be discounts available for running multiple ads and upcharges for features such as color, inclusion in the Sunday paper, or placement of the ad in a certain section of the paper. Below is the information for the New Hampshire Union Leader.
90 column inches X $51.15 per column inch
+ $725.00 for full color = $5,328.50
Assuming that the advertiser above did not get a discount rate they would have paid $51.15 per column inch plus the cost of color to run this ad one time. The full cost is 90 column inches times $51.15 per column inch plus $725.00 for full color (3 c = 3 color printing). 90 X $51.15 + $725.00 = $5,328.50 to run this ad once.
Reference Book Content Samples
- Magazine Dimensions [PDF]Magazine Dimensions provides information and insights about how magazines bond with their readers, audience profiles, reach, CPM and ad impact.
- TV Dimensions [PDF]TV Dimensions covers the use of various television formats to advertise to the public. Some of the topics covered include: viewing patterns, reach and frequency, programming appeals, and commercial impact.
- Intermedia Dimensions [PDF]Intermedia Dimensions facilitates the process of making intermedia comparisons and identifies what various interactions of media mixes can generate for advertisers. It includes measurements on demographics, CPMs, reach, frequency, timing, and more.
Browse for Print Books
Books are arranged on the shelves in the library by subject. We use the Library of Congress Classification System This link opens in a new window to assign call numbers to our materials so that materials on similar topics are next to each other on the shelves and patrons and staff can easily find what they need. You need to know a book's call number in order to get it off the shelf in the library.
If you'd like to browse our shelves, use these call number ranges to find books on the subject of media planning:
| Call Number | Book Title |
|---|---|
| HF 5816 .O5 | The One Show (Circulation Collection: Oversized) |
| REF HF 5805 .S7 2012 | Directory of Advertisers |
| REF HF 6146 .T42 T8 2012 | TV Dimensions 2011 |
| REF HF 6105 .U5 M23 2012 | Magazine Dimensions 2011 |
| REF 5813.U6 I58 2012 | Intermedia Dimensions 2011 |
| REF HF 6146 .T42 N38 2012 | National TV ACES |
Are you an online student who can't get to the library in person? Request a print book to be mailed to you!