Recommended Databases
The Shapiro Library subscribes numerous databases filled with scholarly articles, book chapters, research reports, statistics, and more from thousands of respected publications. The following is a list of some of the best database for doing research on the subject of demographics and markets:
- EASI Analytic Software: The Right Site This link opens in a new windowDemographic and market analysis reports. To access: Contact the Reference Desk (ext. 2161) or ask@snhu.libanswers.com for username and password, please provide your student ID number.
- SRDS Media Planning Platform This link opens in a new windowThe leading provider of media rates and data. Library subscribes to: Business Publication Advertising Source; Consumer Magazine Advertising Source; Direct Marketing List Source; Newspaper Advertising Source; Radio Advertising Source; TV and Cable Source; and Interactive Advertising Source. Access Note: The database has a concurrent user limit. If you can't access SRDS please try again later. The Claritas 360 Platform can only be accessed via the latest 2 versions of Google Chrome.
- RKMA Market Research Handbooks This link opens in a new windowShapiro Library subscribes to a number of consumer behavior and marketing research handbooks in sports, leisure, entertainment and travel.
- Statistical Insight - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe Statistical Insight Collection spans millions of full-text reports and more than 1 million published tables on thousands of different topics. It provides fast and easy access to statistical information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. It also offers broad perspectives and insight on long-term national trends and implications paired with the ability to narrow results.
Web Resources
The following web resources have been compiled by a librarian and may be useful in your research but don't forget to always evaluate any websites you use!
- US Census Bureau This link opens in a new windowThe homepage of the US Census bureau is a portal to a wide range of demographic databases offering information on population, household activity and consumer spending.
- Bureau of Labor Statistics This link opens in a new windowThe BLS keeps and provides statistics on employment and unemployment and compensation among other topics. They also publish the excellent Occupational Outlook Handbook, which summarizes working conditions, pay, and training required for a wide range of occupations
- State and County Quickfacts This link opens in a new windowEasy to use website from the US Census Bureau. Provides comparative data for each state and county for 33 categories divided into three groups: Population, Business & Geography.
Browse for Print Books
Books are arranged on the shelves in the library by subject. We use the Library of Congress Classification System This link opens in a new window to assign call numbers to our materials so that materials on similar topics are next to each other on the shelves and patrons and staff can easily find what they need. You need to know a book's call number in order to get it off the shelf in the library.
If you'd like to browse our shelves, use these call number ranges to find books on the subject of media planning:
| Call Number | Book Title |
|---|---|
| REF HD6983.C6 | ACCRA Cost of Living Index (Published Quarterly) |
| REF HC 110 .C6 O34 2004 | Household spending: who spends how much on what |
| REF HF 5415.33.U6 L54 | Lifestyle Market Analyst |
| REF HF5410 .M3 2010 | Market share reporter |
| REF HQ 1064 U5 O43 2004 | Older Americans: a changing market |
| REF HF5410 .W67 2001-02 | World market share reporter |
Are you an online student who can't get to the library in person? Request a print book to be mailed to you!