Target Markets
The databases and web resources linked below contain proprietary market research, including consumer profiles, market share analysis, demographic data, and statistical assessment tools.
Library Databases
- Mintel Academic This link opens in a new windowMintel offers market research reports covering US and International marketplaces. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles. Complex demographic issues are broken into easy-to-understand sections, explaining consumer behavior and demonstrating the structure of the market
- SRDS Media Planning Platform This link opens in a new windowThe Claritas 360 section of this database allows you to generate a variety of custom reports on consumer demographics and behavior. Profile Ranking Index and Market Potential reports are frequently used to help identify a target market.
- WGSN (World's Global Style Network) This link opens in a new windowWGSN is the world’s leading trend authority for creative thinkers in over 94 countries. WGSN services cover consumer insights, fashion and lifestyle forecasting, data analytics, crowd-sourced design validation and expert advisory services. SNHU's subscription includes access to: Insight, Fashion, Lifestyle & Interiors, and Instock.
- RKMA Market Research Handbooks This link opens in a new windowShapiro Library subscribes to a number of consumer behavior and marketing research handbooks in sports, leisure, entertainment and travel.
- Statista This link opens in a new windowStatista is one of the leading statistics companies on the internet. With a team of over 200 statisticians, database experts, analysts, and editors, Statista provides users with an innovative and intuitive tool for researching quantitative data, statistics and related information.
- eMarketer.PRO This link opens in a new windoweMarketer provides access to market data, reports and analysis, company information, and more.
- Statistical Abstract of the U.S. - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowComprehensive summary of statistics on the social, political, and economic organization of the United States.
Helpful Web Resources
- American Time Use Survey This link opens in a new windowThe American Time Use Survey (ATUS) measures the amount of time people spend doing various activities, such as paid work, childcare, volunteering, and socializing.
- Consumer Expenditure Survey This link opens in a new windowFrom the US Department of Labor, Bureau of Labor Statistics, provides data on expenditures, income, and demographic characteristics of consumers in the United States.
- Market Research and Competitive Analysis This link opens in a new windowResources from the U. S. Small Business Administration on learning how to conduct market research for your business. Provides links to resources for country market research and other exporting information.
- Nielsen Reports This link opens in a new windowA market research firm that conducts large-scale opinion polls and targeted trend-watching on consumers’ views and behaviors worldwide. Many reports are available free with registration.
- Surveys of Consumers - University of Michigan This link opens in a new windowConducted with support from Thompson Reuters, most resources are available to download as tables, reports, charts and raw data.