Award Winning Advertisements
- Clio Awards This link opens in a new windowThe Clio Awards is the esteemed international awards competition for the creative business. Founded in 1959 to celebrate high achievement in advertising, the Clios annually and throughout the year recognize the work, the agencies and the talent that push boundaries and establish new precedent.
- OBIE Awards This link opens in a new windowOne of the oldest and most prestigious honors for creative excellence in advertising
Google Search
Search the web for advertisements using your company or product name and advertisements as keywords. For example:
iPhone AND advertisements
Advertisements
The links and databases below feature current and historical print, television, radio, and web advertisements. Additionally, many of these resources feature advertising metrics, market analysis, and information about the creation and success of particular advertising campaigns.
Current Advertisements
- AdForum This link opens in a new windowDatabase of 200,000+ advertisements from around the world.
- iSpot.tv This link opens in a new windowClick the magnifying glass at upper right to search content. Basic ad metrics are available without a subscription.
- Lurzer's International Archive This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of Search among 30+ years of the best print campaigns, TV commercials, and digital designs from around the world.
- Ad Meter: USA Today This link opens in a new windowSuper Bowl advertisements and their performance
Historic Advertisements
- Magazine Archives – EBSCO This link opens in a new windowThe magazine archives includes: Sports Illustrated Magazine Archive (1954 - 2000), Forbes Magazine Archive (1917 - 2000), Fortune Magazine Archive (1930 - 2000), Time Magazine Archive (1923 - 2000), and Life Magazine Archive (1936 - 2000).
- Emergence of Advertising in America: 1850 - 1920 - Duke University This link opens in a new windowOver 3,300 advertising items and publications dating from 1850 to 1920, illustrating the rise of consumer culture and the birth of a professionalized advertising industry in the United States.
- Ad*Access - Duke University This link opens in a new windowOver 7,000 U.S. and Canadian advertisements covering five product categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II propaganda - dated between 1911 and 1955.
- The New York Public Library Digital Collections This link opens in a new windowSearchable database of hundreds of thousands of digitized items from the New York Public Library
- The Advertising Archives This link opens in a new windowSearchable collection of over 1 million advertising images from the mid-19th century to the present drawn largely from British and American sources. Full size images have watermarks.
- Vogue Archive - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowAmerican fashion and lifestyle magazine. Access available from 1892 to present.
- WWD (The Women's Wear Daily Archive) - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowThe Women's Wear Daily Archive provides online access to the definitive fashion and retail publication, Women’s Wear Daily (WWD). The entire archive of WWD, previously unavailable in digital form, opens up new opportunities for research. This authoritative record of how the fashion industry developed over the twentieth century provides valuable primary source material for students across the disciplines of fashion, business, and history.