Use this Library Research Guide to help locate evidence-based resources including articles, information on research appraisal, statistics, evidence translation, clinical practice tools, informatics and professional resources.
The Shapiro Library’s collections provide knowledge-based resources essential to the academic endeavors of the SNHU community. Here are three main ways that you can get started using our databases, resources and tools.
Start your research in theMulti-Search database search box on the homepage of the library
The Multi-Search searches across library resources including the physical and electronic collections of books/ ebooks, articles, databases, videos, and reference resources
Type a keyword or two into the the Multi-Search search box and search the many books, e-books, journals, magazines, newspapers and, reports in our collection. You may limit your search by content type, subject or publication date.
HINT: When searching in the Multi-Search, look for the recommended databases at the top of the search results page.
You can find books and ebooks by using the search box provided above to search the Online Library Catalog. The catalog is a list of all the print resources the library has (including print books, print journals, video games, audio books, and more) and also includes a record for most of our ebooks.
Books are arranged on the shelves in the library by subject. We use the Library of Congress Classification System to assign call numbers to our materials so that materials on similar topics are next to each other on the shelves and patrons and staff can easily find what they need. You need to know a book's call number in order to get it off the shelf in the library.
If you'd like to browse our shelves, use these call number ranges to find books on the subject of nursing: