Skip to Main Content
Accessibility Information

RN-BSN Library Guide

Use this Library Research Guide to help locate evidence-based resources including articles, information on research appraisal, statistics, evidence translation, clinical practice tools, informatics and professional resources.

EndNote


EndNote is a subscription-based citation management tool that SNHU does not currently provide institutional access to. Support videos are available via the Hoonuit This link opens in a new window database. EndNote Basic This link opens in a new window is a free, limited version of EndNote.

Additional support for Endnote is available online via the Endnote Support website This link opens in a new window.

Mendeley


Mendeley is a free research and reference manager which generations citations and bibliographies. It also allows users to save citations for access from any computer linked to the Internet. Create a free Mendeley account This link opens in a new window or sign in to your Mendeley account This link opens in a new window if you already have one.

More information about Mendeley is available on Mendeley's website This link opens in a new window or visit the Mendeley help guides This link opens in a new window and Mendeley video tutorials This link opens in a new window for more assistance using this product.

Zotero


Zotero is a free research and reference organizer that helps you collect and organize your research and cite your sources. It also allows users to save citations and bibliographies for access from any computer linked to the Internet. Create a free Zotero account This link opens in a new window or sign in to your Zotero account This link opens in a new window if you already have one.

More information about Zotero is available on the Zotero Website This link opens in a new window or visit the Zotero quick start guide This link opens in a new window and Zotero video tutorials This link opens in a new window for more assistance using this product.

Cite and Track Your Sources


As you begin the search process to find a solution to your clinical problem, keeping track of the database, keywords, and combination of keywords used during the search process is essential. Having the details of the search process allows you to know how to replicate your search and allows others to replicate your search. 

  • Use a search tracker to write down information about your articles as you find them. Identify the database, keywords, and the combination of keywords. Note Boolean phrases used. 
  • Record the article's citation information and a live link to the article.
  • Cite your article in APA format to save you time when writing your evidence-based practice solution. 
  • Download and save your articles as you find them.

Keep a Research Journal


Why Keep a Research Journal?

Keeping a record of your research will:

  1. Make it easier to write your paper
  2. Increase the quality of your paper
  3. Help you know where you got your information, when it is a direct quote, a paraphrase, or a summary
  4. Prevent plagiarism
  5. Save you time when writing your paper, citing in-text, and creating your reference page

A Research Journal can be made simple by using Citation Management Tools.

  • There are free tools available to students, faculty, and staff through the Shapiro Library website called EasyBib and RefWorks.
  • There are free tools available to everyone online; our top suggestions are Mendeley and Zotero.

What Goes into a Research Journal?

A Research Journal should contain:

  1. Full citation information of the source you found including a link to the source, if it is electronic or online
    • A full citation generally includes:
      • author(s) name(s),
      • date source was published/ updated,
      • article/(e)book/webpage title,
      • publication title (for journals, magazines, and other periodicals),
      • publisher and publication location (for physical sources),
      • organization, business, website name, or sponsor (for webpages),
      • database name- note that database articles/ebooks generally require login and are not available to the general public, which is why it is helpful to include the database in your notes
      • link to the source (if it is electronic, including sources from databases)
      • date you accessed the source (if it is electronic)
      • Click "What is a "Citation Style" tab to the left of this page for more information regarding required elements in specific styles
  2. A sentence or more of why this source is valuable to your research
  3. Notes from or about the source that you may want to use in your paper
    • Quotations with quotation marks noted with page numbers, where appropriate
    • Paraphrase with page number, where appropriate, and noted that it is a paraphrase and not your own words
    • Summary with page numbers, where appropriate, and noted that you summarized an idea
  4. Additional notes or inspiration from the source that you may want to include in your paper

RefWorks


RefWorks is an online research management, writing and collaboration tool that is designed to help researchers easily gather, manage, store and share all types of information, as well as generate citations and bibliographies. You can access RefWorks on the A - Z Database List.

With RefWorks you can:

  • Gather references automatically from article databases and indexes while you research
  • Insert formatted references into your paper in a variety of styles (MLA, APA, Turabian, etc.)
  • Format your footnotes and bibliographies
  • Create a personal research database online 
  • Store and organize references that are accessible from any computer linked to the Internet
  • Search a wide variety of article databases and import references
  • Share references with others
  • Download and use Write-N-Cite

First Time Users

When accessing RefWorks This link opens in a new window, new users need to create a username and password. Please use your SNHU email as that will alert RefWorks that you are affiliated with the University. We recommend setting your password to be the same as your my.snhu login for ease of use.

Help Using RefWorks

An overview of features and help can be found on the RefWorks Help Page This link opens in a new window. Visit the RefWorks Video Tutorial page This link opens in a new window to view helpful short videos on this product.

Questions about RefWorks can be directed to Instructional Support at instructionalsupport@snhu.edu. 

FAQ's Using RefWorks

How do I save full-text documents or citations to RefWorks?

With a single click! Install the Save to RefWorks This link opens in a new window add-on or bookmarklet to your internet browser, then click it when you're on a web page or journal article you'd like to save. We'll even try to grab the full text with it's available. 

I write in Word / Google Docs, can RefWorks help me cite or create a bibliography?

Yes! If you write in Word, go to the Tools menu This link opens in a new window and download Write-N-Cite. ProQuest has a help guide on using Write-N-Cite This link opens in a new window.

For Google Doc users, our add-on gives you the full power of RefWorks right within Google Docs. Visit the RefWorks for Google Docs page This link opens in a new window to learn more.