MKT 432 - Strategic Marketing Planning - 10 Point Company Analysis
This research guide organizes the Library electronic resources available for use in composing the 10 point company analysis assignment.
Product and Pricing
Company and Retail Websites
The most straightforward approach to identifying a company's product range and pricing is to review their own website if they sell direct to consumers or the websites of major retailers such as Amazon, Walmart, Home Depot, or Best Buy.
Company Search
Are there discussions of product mix and pricing strategy in places like the 10-K report Item 1: Business or Item 7: Management Discussion and Analysis of Financial Condition and Results of Operations, or in the quarterly earnings call transcripts? The Long Business Description in S&P Capital IQ gives a summary of "Products and Brands."
- Capital IQ (Standard & Poor’s) This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
S&P Global Market Intelligence combines broad data, powerful analytics, and deep sector intelligence. Includes company profiles and financials of both public and private companies, in-depth global data for 17 industries; 7 industry-specific financial statement templates, and more. NOTE: All users must register for accounts to use this database. Read this FAQ for more details on how to create an account. Need help using the database - check out the Academic Resource Center. - D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new windowLook under Company Description in the Operations and Geographic Reach sections
- Mergent ONLINE This link opens in a new windowCompany reports in Mergent Online usually contains SBUs in its Business Summary or the more detailed Business Description segments.
Literature Search
Search business and news websites for information on your company's pricing strategy and products offered.
- Business Source Ultimate - EBSCO This link opens in a new windowBusiness Source Ultimate includes news articles, peer-reviewed articles, case studies, country economic reports. It also includes company profiles, SWOT analyses, and interviews with executives and analysts.
- ABI/INFORM Collection - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowMajor source for academic journals, trade publications, market and industry research reports, company annual reports, dissertations, and working papers. Also contains country profiles and economic forecasts for most major economies.
- NewsBank: Access World News This link opens in a new windowNewsBank consolidates current and archived information from thousands of newspaper titles, as well as newswires, web editions, blogs, videos, broadcast transcripts, business journals, periodicals, government documents and other publications. Shapiro Library also subscribes to the current year of the Union Leader in color which includes ads
- News & Newspapers - ProQuest This link opens in a new windowFull text of U.S. and international news sources. Includes coverage The New York Times and the Times of London, plus hundreds of other news sources and news wires
